![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Had the ball hit a teammate or official in the paint (despite really bad positioning by stripes), then it would be a two. (See 5.2.1 C) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Many (perhaps most) feel the "thrown ball" rule is written with the assumption that the ball is thrown toward the area of the basket....and that a deflection that redirects the ball to the basket is no longer a "thrown ball"....particularly a deflection on a ball that is not going above the rim or is on its way down. The purpose of this rule is NOT to turn a wild deflection into 3 points but to take the judgement out of the case where a ball, as released, may or may not have been a try but goes directly into the basket....and that a brush (not a redirection) by a defender doesn't change the status of the thrown ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
I agree the rule was written to take the judgement out. Taking the position above is adding a lot of judgement back in. IMO, 5-2-1 and 5.2.1C(b) in the case book gives us only one choice. Count it as 3. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There is another case play (someone else can look it up) that has a thrown ball (try) that bounces off a defender's head and into the basket. The ball was thrown from behind the 3-point arc. The ruling in that case play is that it counts for 2 points. Why? At the point in time where the "try" is over (certain it will not be successful, below the rim, hits the floor, etc.) the thrown ball can no longer score for 3 points....any subsequent deflection is a NEW action. So, a thrown ball that can not possibly go in as released is not subject to being 3-points. The judgement removed is in the intent of the thrower, not whether the "try" has ended or not. The former requires the reading of a mind. The latter only requires the observation of physical facts.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
5-2-1: "A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown."
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
Sitch 2: A1 shoots a three point shot, but it falls short and is an air ball. A2 and B2 attempt to get the rebound, but B2 outjumps A2 and is able to tip it and it goes in. Sitch 3: A1, from the corner (3 pt area), passes an alley oop pass towards A 2. However, the pass sails over A2's hands and the basket. After going over the basket it hits B2 in the a) hands or b) head and bounces into the basket. Y'all giving three for both of these?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Wasn't it just a few years ago that an interp was around that it required a try to count as three? Of course that would have been before the more recent case play. Last edited by Scratch85; Tue Dec 21, 2010 at 03:21pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Reading the rule, I don't know how you could award anything else.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
||||
|
Quote:
Quote:
26 year gap did. Quote:
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith Last edited by BktBallRef; Wed Dec 22, 2010 at 12:15am. |
|
||||
|
Quote:
On the 2nd one, it never hits A2's hands.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, if there never was a try for three, then it can't end, and any defensive deflection of a offense's ball from beyond the arc will still count as three. I tend to think it would cut both ways, though. If A-1 is in the lane, and attempts a pass to A-2 in the corner, but it's blocked hard into the basket by B-3, who is next to A-2 and outside the arc, I would say that's a two-pointer. Again, it's where the offense releases the ball, right? |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Face mask-pass or no pass... | buckrog64 | Football | 13 | Mon Oct 01, 2007 04:08pm |
| Pass Play: Inelgible/Pass Int or Nothing | BoBo | Football | 10 | Fri Sep 07, 2007 08:49am |
| forward pass/backwards pass | cyrick | Football | 8 | Mon Oct 09, 2006 10:59pm |
| Pass Interference on an Illegal Forward Pass | OverAndBack | Football | 8 | Mon Aug 23, 2004 03:11pm |
| Muffed Pass: Fumble or Pass | DH Anderson | Basketball | 9 | Tue Jan 18, 2000 05:05pm |