The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 08:00am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
As long as it goes off his foot and next hits inbounds, it's nothing.
Imo I think you have to judge whether it was a throw-in pass or a fumble. Both the NFHS and NCAA use similar language for a legal throw-in. They both say that the thrower has to release the ball on a pass directly into the court. If you judged that the thrower intended to kick the ball into the court, I'd agree it was nothing. If you instead judged that the the thrower inadvertantly kicked the ball, I'd go with Nevada's ruling.

But that's just me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 08:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Imo I think you have to judge whether it was a throw-in pass or a fumble. Both the NFHS and NCAA use similar language for a legal throw-in. They both say that the thrower has to release the ball on a pass directly into the court. If you judged that the thrower intended to kick the ball into the court, I'd agree it was nothing. If you instead judged that the the thrower inadvertantly kicked the ball, I'd go with Nevada's ruling.

But that's just me.
Now I'm just axin', but wouldn't this qualify as a kicked ball? 9-4?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 09:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Now I'm just axin', but wouldn't this qualify as a kicked ball? 9-4?
Nope, you consider it the same as the thrower dribbling the ball OOB. Would you call an illegal second dribble on a thrower if they dribbled the ball, caught it and dribbled it again?

Case book play 9.2.2SitD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 09:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Nope, you consider it the same as the thrower dribbling the ball OOB. Would you call an illegal second dribble on a thrower if they dribbled the ball, caught it and dribbled it again?

Case book play 9.2.2SitD
Apples and stereos.

Of course I wouldn't call an illegal dribble. Fundamental #5, dribbling or traveling rules do not apply during a throw-in, jump ball, or free throw.

It says nothing of kicked ball rules, and your post mentioned the player intentionally kicking the ball in as his throw-in pass.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Apples and stereos.

Of course I wouldn't call an illegal dribble. Fundamental #5, dribbling or traveling rules do not apply during a throw-in, jump ball, or free throw.

It says nothing of kicked ball rules, and your post mentioned the player intentionally kicking the ball in as his throw-in pass.
I agree with Snaqwells, if what Jurassic said is what he meant.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:05am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with Snaqwells, if what Jurassic said is what he meant.
Still trying to redeem myself after that serious brain fart yesterday.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with Snaqwells, if what Jurassic said is what he meant.
What's your opinion of case book play of 9.2.2SitB(a) then where we're directed to re-set if the ball is fumbled forward? It doesn't say how much forward or how far forward or whether the ball went forwards in-bounds or not, just that we should re-set. Would you treat an inadvertently kicked ball differently? I wouldn't. And if you would, I'd appreciate a cite.

NFHS rules. Not sure if it's definitively covered under NCAA rules.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
What's your opinion of case book play of 9.2.2SitB(a) then where we're directed to re-set if the ball is fumbled forward? It doesn't say how much forward or how far forward or whether the ball went forwards in-bounds or not, just that we should re-set. Would you treat an inadvertently kicked ball differently? I wouldn't. And if you would, I'd appreciate a cite.

NFHS rules. Not sure if it's definitively covered under NCAA rules.
Is that the right cite? I can't seem to find it in my 2010-2011 case book.

There is 9.2.1B (a), but here, it's not a fumble, it's a muff. And, that's completely different.

9.2.1B (b) is a fumble -- and a violation, but not really relevant to the play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:11am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Apples and stereos.

Of course I wouldn't call an illegal dribble. Fundamental #5, dribbling or traveling rules do not apply during a throw-in, jump ball, or free throw.

It says nothing of kicked ball rules, and your post mentioned the player intentionally kicking the ball in as his throw-in pass.
Throw-in violations are listed under 9-2. See kicking the ball by the thrower in there anywhere?

It's a matter of intent imo, and that's why I made that statement. Did the thrower intend to throw-in the ball via kicking it to a team mate in-bounds? if so, I don't think that's a violation under either NFHS or NCAA rules.

Or was the kick inadvertant, and this should be treated as a fumble as in case book play 9.2.1SitB(a) where the ball is fumbled forward?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:15am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Did the thrower intend to throw-in the ball via kicking it to a team mate in-bounds? if so, I don't think that's a violation under either NFHS or NCAA rules.
WHAT??? Intentionally kicking the ball is NOT a violation???

Is the thrower-in a player? Yes. Did that player intentionally kick the ball? Yes. That's a violation. Not a throw-in violation under 9-2, perhaps; but definitely a kicking violation under 9-4.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:22am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
WHAT??? Intentionally kicking the ball is NOT a violation???

Is the thrower-in a player? Yes. Did that player intentionally kick the ball? Yes. That's a violation. Not a throw-in violation under 9-2, perhaps; but definitely a kicking violation under 9-4.
If dribbling and traveling rules don't apply OOB, what makes you think that deliberately kicking the ball should? Especially when none of those violations are listed as throw-in violations under 9-2? Would you call a thrower for fisting the ball to a teammate in-bounds too?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:32am
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Nope, you consider it the same as the thrower dribbling the ball OOB. Would you call an illegal second dribble on a thrower if they dribbled the ball, caught it and dribbled it again?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
WHAT??? Intentionally kicking the ball is NOT a violation???
This sounds to me like a question of player/team control.

There must be control in order for a travel or illegal dribble violation to occur. Must there also be control for a kick violation?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:39am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
This sounds to me like a question of player/team control.

There must be control in order for a travel or illegal dribble violation to occur. Must there also be control for a kick violation?
While there certainly must be control for those two, that's not the answer for a couple of reasons.

First of all, in NCAA there is control during a throw in.
Second, there's control during a free throw.
Third, the rule doesn't tie this to control anywhere.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2010, 10:42am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
There must be control in order for a travel or illegal dribble violation to occur. Must there also be control for a kick violation?
No.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Kick question (free kick) referee20 Football 15 Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm
Throw in kick ball just another ref Basketball 47 Mon Aug 06, 2007 05:35pm
Inadvertent whistle missinglink Basketball 3 Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:27pm
Kick Ball on AP Throw-in rpirtle Basketball 71 Sat Jan 10, 2004 02:21am
Inadvertent pizanno Basketball 28 Mon Mar 18, 2002 11:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1