![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
I had a second year guy ask me this the other night at our local kids rec league ref meeting.
A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball. Would you chop the clock as soon as the ball is touched by B1 then stop it virtually immediately? Or would you rule the ball wasn't legally touched so the clock would not start? He also asked if it was an AP throw-in instead of one following a violation, who would get the subsequent throw-in and what would happen to the AP arrow.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
The clock question is a good one and I don't have my books to research but the held ball on the AP throw in stays with the team who was making the throw. Since there was no end to the throw in the arrow stays where it was until the completed AP throw in to come.
Again, no books to site rules or casebook but it won't take long for someone.
__________________
CALL WHAT YOU SEE AND SEE WHAT YOU CALL |
|
|||
An easy fix to this
I was involved with the kicked throw in dilemma discussion and thought I'd throw in my .02 on this one. IMO, the reason for the alternating possession rules to be in there at all is for the teams to "take turns" in what used to be jump ball situations. 6-4-4 currently reads "The direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating-possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5."
In the sitch above, there is an AP throwin that "ends" with a held ball. (But it doesn't end as in 4-42-5, thus the conundrum) Why not just revise the wording of 6-4-4 to say the direction of the possession arrow is reversed when the ball is placed at the disposal of a team for an alternating possession throw in. This seems to me to be a fairly simple editorial change, and gets rid of those rare and obscure rulings that have to happen because of the wording of 6-4-4, and restores the "take turns" intent of the alternating possession. |
|
||||
Quote:
I'm with you, but the NFHS has determined the arrow presents the throw-in team with the opportunity to have an entire throw-in. Personally, I think once the thrower is handed the ball, the AP arrow has done its job, but the NFHS disagrees (along with 99% of the posters on this board).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the held ball and kicked pass situations the clock does not start. |
|
|||
Quote:
ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower."
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Neither. 5-9-4.
|
|
|||
Someone send up the bat signal.....
Where's our infamous table-guy when you need him? He'd know what to do!
![]()
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.
Quote:
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson |
|
|||
Quote:
Wrong again. I'd tell you to stick to timing but it looks like you don't really know what you're doing in that area either. Player or team control has got diddly-squat to do with starting the clock on a throw-in. The pertinent rule....5-9-4... has already been cited. |
|
|||
AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.
SECTION 9 RE-STARTING THE CLOCK ART. 1 . . . After time has been out, the clock shall be started when the official signals time-in. If the official neglects to signal, the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out. ART. 2 . . . If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched. ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. ART. 4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower. In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start. Quote:
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson |
|
|||
In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player. On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise. However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out. I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal. Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds. Quote:
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson Last edited by chseagle; Wed Nov 10, 2010 at 10:30pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Clock question | SamG | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:09pm |
A weird weekend for weird plays... | SRW | Softball | 17 | Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:18pm |
weird clock situation | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:45pm |
Weird Backcourt Question | JLC | Basketball | 24 | Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:24pm |
Clock Question? | APHP | Basketball | 17 | Fri Feb 21, 2003 08:05pm |