The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
I had a second year guy ask me this the other night at our local kids rec league ref meeting.
A1 is to inbound following a violation on team B. The clock is stopped. A1 holds the ball over the line and it is grabbed by B1, forcing a jump ball. Would you chop the clock as soon as the ball is touched by B1 then stop it virtually immediately? Or would you rule the ball wasn't legally touched so the clock would not start?
He also asked if it was an AP throw-in instead of one following a violation, who would get the subsequent throw-in and what would happen to the AP arrow.
|