The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:58pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.
Jump ball to start the game...both jumpers touch the ball legally. Are you saying you won't start the clock when the jumpers touch the ball? Because according to what you just stated, it wouldn't start since there is no team/player control in this situation...

The rule has already been posted earlier as to when the clock should be correctly started.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 10:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

SECTION 9 RE-STARTING THE CLOCK
ART. 1 . . . After time has been out, the clock shall be started when the official signals time-in. If the official neglects to signal, the timer is authorized to start the clock as per rule, unless an official specifically signals continued time-out.
ART. 2 . . . If play is started or resumed by a jump, the clock shall be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.
ART. 4 . . . If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Tsk, tsk, tsk....

Wrong again. I'd tell you to stick to timing but it looks like you don't really know what you're doing in that area either.

Player or team control has got diddly-squat to do with starting the clock on a throw-in. The pertinent rule....5-9-4... has already been cited.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.
In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
In the OP, you are correct. But your blanket assertion that the clock does not start because there is no team control ... that is just wrong. Team control has exactly nothing to do with when the clock properly starts. The clock starts...wait for it...when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court... And merely touching the ball does not create player or team control.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson

Last edited by chseagle; Wed Nov 10, 2010 at 10:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Jump ball, throw-in, free throw missed, in all cases the clock starts when the ball is legally touched. If the clock doesn't start until team control is established, it was started late.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Perhaps you are confusing this with a previous discussion about a kicked inbounds pass? In that case the throw-in has been released. Or I would hope it has been.
I was thinking that, to be honest, but the way the rule reads even that wouldn't start the clock.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
All I was doing was asking a question as to why the call is what it is.

How I understand rules/regulations, this would be a Defensive throw-in violation as the offense is unable to complete the throw-in. However, show me the rule & case book play that shows otherwise, & my thinking will change.
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
The player OB makes the ball OB, regardless of team/player control, doesn't he?
Except for the fact that the player is supposed to be OOB....it is a throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Nov 10, 2010 at 11:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:07am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
This, as has been stated, is just wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The clock should never have started as there was no player/team control inbounds.
But is this a retraction?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
AI (OOB Player) never released the ball to be inbounds, so the clock would not be started.

(snip)
In the OP, A1 (the thrower) never releases the ball although B1 is holding the ball. Because the ball HAS NOT been released by the thrower, the clock will not start.
then there's this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
ART. 3 . . . If a free throw is not successful and the ball is to remain live, the clock shall be started when the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court.

In the case of a missed free throw, the clock can be started by an offensive player tapping the ball for a try on the rebound, or a defensive player taps the ball towards another player.

On opening jumps, the clock starts when the ball is tapped by one or both jumpers, unless signaled otherwise.

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I always wait for the floor official to signal start clock before the clock starts. Rarely have I had to start the clock due to failure to see the start clock signal.

Generally when I see the start clock signal, there is player/team control established except during jump balls & free throw rebounds.
Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You need to show me a rule that says it's a violation for the defense to prevent the offense from completing a throwin.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Key word here is "generally." Don't base your understanding of the rules on what you generally see happen. Quite a few times each game you'll see a throw-in pass tipped before it is controlled.
In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:32am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
The player breaking the plane is the violation. It has nothing to do with completing the throw-in.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:35am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post

However as stated in 5-9-1 the timer can start the clock if they do not see the floor official signal start clock/neglects to signal (their discretion on what it means by ball legally touched), unless floor official specifically signals continued time out.

I find the thought of eagle using his discretion to be somewhat troubling.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:49am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
In other words, I was meaning most of the time.

As has been mentioned several times, the timer is not right there in front of/next to the play, so the timer has to rely on the floor official to signal when to start/stop the clock.
So it's a retraction from your first statement. Understood.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 06:09am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
The defensive player crosses the plane such as 7-6-4
Um, no. The thrower held the ball over the plane in-bounds. The defender grabbed the ball on the in-bounds side of the plane. At NO time, did the defender cross the plane out-of-bounds. That's why it's a legal play.

You don't have a friggin' clue whatinthehell you're talking about. And that includes when and why to start the clock. If you don't understand what we're talking about, by all means ask questions until you do. But DO NOT try to tell us what to do. Quite simply, you do not have the rules knowledge to be doing something like that.

Just a suggestion from the kinder, gentler JR.....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clock question SamG Basketball 6 Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:09pm
A weird weekend for weird plays... SRW Softball 17 Tue Jun 17, 2008 04:18pm
weird clock situation blindzebra Basketball 2 Tue Dec 06, 2005 08:45pm
Weird Backcourt Question JLC Basketball 24 Sun Dec 26, 2004 07:24pm
Clock Question? APHP Basketball 17 Fri Feb 21, 2003 08:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1