The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 10:57am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
A weird weekend for weird plays...

Had several rules I had enforced this weekend that don't normally come up frequently...

In one ASA JO FP game Saturday:
- Rule 3-4 : Pitcher with black Mizuno glove with yellow stitching.
- Rule 6FP-3I: Same pitcher stepping outside the 24" length of the PP.
- Rule 6FP-7B: Pitch comes in for strike, 0-2, F2 throws to F3. Ball 1, count's now 1-2.
- Rule 6FP-10E: First base coach emphatically calls Time about 3 times as F1 goes into motion.
- Rule 6FP-11: High windup, ball slips to center field. No one on base though.
- Rule 8-7J(1): Typical runner interference on a GB to F4 for the 3rd out.

And in a CoEd SP game on Sunday:
- Rule 8-5F(1) Team A is kicking the $chitt out of Team B by about 20 or 25 runs. Bottom of the 5th inning, all Team A needs is 3 outs to go home. First batter up pops up to F4 - he shows off and catches the ball in his hat. Dead ball, give the batter 3B.

Just kinda odd that they all happened to me all within two days of games ...
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,158
Question

I was under the impression the Mizuno glove,with yellow stitching, was legal......

I am more than willing to be corrected on this though....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chess Ref
I was under the impression the Mizuno glove,with yellow stitching, was legal......
Common sense would make one think is should be, but it is not by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
- Rule 6FP-7B: Pitch comes in for strike, 0-2, F2 throws to F3. Ball 1, count's now 1-2.
I'm confused
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASARulebook
[6FP-7B:] The catcher shall return the ball directly to the pitcher after each pitch, except after a strikeout,
Uh... wasn't that a strikeout?
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Well it is not as it is off the shelf, now with a little Sharpie work that glove is just fine
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
I'm confused

Uh... wasn't that a strikeout?
Jeff Poster stated pitch came in for a strike 0-2, Not that the count at
the time was 0-2., so now a ball is awarded to batter.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 12:23pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC
I'm confused

Uh... wasn't that a strikeout?
We started with 0-1. The pitch was thrown for a strike. Now we're at 0-2. Then F2 threw to F3. Now we're at 1-2.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Ha a couple in Westlake, La this weekend.

1st one, got to use one that has been around awhile.

Teams in loser bracket, Team A using their ace, knowing if they lose saving
her means nothing, Team B taking different approach, using a whatever.
Team B pitcher rarely finding the zone. Team B coach really harping on my
K zone. It is 90 + and humid. He finally tells me I am missing a good game.
Yea, you know what was coming. "I know coach, but the UIC told me I had
to work this game." He did not like that and really went off, but I informed
him he was staying, I had to.

R1 on 2B, ball hit toward SS, runner seeing ball slows then bounce steps in
front of SS and somehow not hit my batted ball, but causes SS to lose sight
of ball, hitting her in throat. "Dead Ball, INT." Offensive coach comes out
arguing. [both PU and BU called play at same time] He loses argument, but
in parting say that had only been called 1 time on him, and that by a Texas
umpire. Little did he know, I was only Texas Umpire in the tournament.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRW
We started with 0-1. The pitch was thrown for a strike. Now we're at 0-2. Then F2 threw to F3. Now we're at 1-2.
Oh.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Common sense would make one think is should be, but it is not by rule.
Would you say that is what the rule actually states? I don't think so.

I would say it is not by official interpretation of the rule.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Would you say that is what the rule actually states? I don't think so.
"The Pitcher's glove may be of one solid color or multicolored as long as the color(s) are not the color of the ball being used in the game."

Quote:
I would say it is not by official interpretation of the rule.
Well, according to the June clarifications, it is. I am assuming that the "yellow" on the glove is the same color as the ball, not just any shade of yellow.

Please note, I'm not saying I agree with it, just the way it seems ASA supervisor wants it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 16, 2008, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 105
2008 NCAA Rules (Page 50)

Quote:
The catcher may wear a leather glove or leather mitt of any dimension.
Gloves/mitts worn by players may not be the color of the ball but may be
any combination of other colors. The pitcherís glove may be tan, brown, grey
or black, or any combination of those colors. Glove lacing may be any color
other than that of the ball.
Quote:
EFFECT ó If noticed before a play, the umpire shall direct
the fielder to remove the glove/mitt. Should the illegal glove/
mitt reappear, the offending player shall be ejected.
If a play is made with the illegal glove/mitt, the offensive coach
has the choice of taking the result of the play or having the play
nullified. If nullified, the batter returns to bat, runners return
to the bases occupied at the time of the last pitch and play is
resumed.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 06:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
"The Pitcher's glove may be of one solid color or multicolored as long as the color(s) are not the color of the ball being used in the game."



Well, according to the June clarifications, it is. I am assuming that the "yellow" on the glove is the same color as the ball, not just any shade of yellow.

Please note, I'm not saying I agree with it, just the way it seems ASA supervisor wants it.
What I'm saying is that the Mizuno glove is a black glove with yellow logo and markings. That is different from saying it is a black and yellow glove, like the Jenny Finch glove is black and pink. No part of the body of the glove is yellow; it is black with a very minor yellow marking.

Take, as a point of comparison, the ASA powder blue uniform shirt. Would you not agree that it is powder blue? Or would you say it is multicolored, because it has about 1% navy blue in the ASA logo and trim, and 0.5% white trim? KR is saying that glove is multicolored, despite the multiple efforts to match interpretations with NCAA and NFHS, both of which more clearly state that the color of a glove does NOT include logo's, laces, or other minor markings.

So, again, I say that is the interpretation, but not necessarily what the rule actually says. Not the first or only time; I have always questioned how running/crashing into a player not making a play can also be interference, when every other interpretation of interference makes it clear there must be a play to be interfered with. USC, sure; interference, only because they say so.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
What I'm saying is that the Mizuno glove is a black glove with yellow logo and markings. That is different from saying it is a black and yellow glove, like the Jenny Finch glove is black and pink. No part of the body of the glove is yellow; it is black with a very minor yellow marking.

Take, as a point of comparison, the ASA powder blue uniform shirt. Would you not agree that it is powder blue? Or would you say it is multicolored, because it has about 1% navy blue in the ASA logo and trim, and 0.5% white trim? KR is saying that glove is multicolored, despite the multiple efforts to match interpretations with NCAA and NFHS, both of which more clearly state that the color of a glove does NOT include logo's, laces, or other minor markings.
Steve, not arguing against you for the rule. I think it is ridiculous. However, in the June clarifications, the "rule of thumb" and reasoning contradict each other.

A good rule of thumb would be to hold the game ball next to the glove in question and see if they are the same color. If they are, then the PITCHER can not use that glove. The intent of the rule is to not have a glove that appears to have a ball in it or that can be a distraction to the batter by having the game ball color on it.

The "rule of thumb" seems to clearly state that if the colors are the same through comparison, the pitcher cannot use the glove. However, I think the final sentence muddies the waters more than helps clarify it. After all, who cares if it seems there is a ball in the glove? What difference does that make in the pitching game?


Quote:
I have always questioned how running/crashing into a player not making a play can also be interference, when every other interpretation of interference makes it clear there must be a play to be interfered with. USC, sure; interference, only because they say so.
I agree. Then again, I would like to see clearer language to address the no-ball collision situations.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Neither the Mizuno (more of an optic greenish yellowish) nor the Wilson (straight yellow) perfectly match the game ball.

Thats excellent.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird Plays this Year? GFS-1 Basketball 1 Sun Jan 21, 2007 10:01pm
weird. LLPA13UmpDan Baseball 7 Sat Nov 18, 2006 12:52pm
Two weird plays Mark Padgett Basketball 8 Sat Nov 20, 2004 09:30pm
This is weird. brandan89 Basketball 8 Sun Aug 22, 2004 08:18pm
And another weird one His High Holiness Baseball 20 Thu Jul 04, 2002 11:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1