![]() |
|
|
|||
If the Airborne playing does not have LGP; then they are responsible for the contact.
A1 with ball is stationary - B1 comes from the side and Jumps to get in front of A1. A1 dribbles forward and contacts B1 who is still in air. This is a foul on B1 as B1 never had LGP, even though A1 did not give him a place to land. If B1 has LGP; and they jump forward into the path - I believe B1 is responsible for the contact as a defender can not move forward into the path of A1, they can get to the space first but not move into A1. Generally, you see this play as a defender comes flying to block a shot. A1 pulls the ball down and dribble drives, moving into the landing space of B1. B1 lands on A1, 100% of the time this is called on B1. |
|
|||
Quote:
What about 4-45-7, which states: "The player with the ball is to be given no more protection or consideration than the defender in judging which player has violated the rules"? So, if a player with the ball moves under an airborne defender, how is that different than the defender moving under an airborne shooter?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
One has the ball, the other one doesn't ![]() |
|
|||
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Easy Question | fastpitch | Softball | 1 | Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:15am |
First timer....and an easy question to start with | WeekendRef | Basketball | 9 | Wed Jan 14, 2004 01:06pm |
Easy question for you guys... | devdog69 | Softball | 14 | Fri Jul 18, 2003 04:25pm |
Another Easy Play [probably too easy for this board] | whiskers_ump | Softball | 14 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 04:59pm |
To those seasoned officials...yet another question | dhodges007 | Basketball | 8 | Thu Mar 29, 2001 04:34pm |