Quote:
Originally Posted by JP21
Old question but need some clarification.
Offensive player (A1) pump fakes defender (B1) into the air. A couple of scenarios.
1. A1 initiates contact on his shot by jumping into B1, who has gone straight up with his arms? Contact is enough to have to make a call.
2. A1 pump fakes defender into the air and tries to draw the foul by maintianing his pivot foot , and steps into B1.
Easy call if B1 hammers A1, but the question is more towards B1 going up straight and not initiating contact with A1. Is there a level of initiating too much contact from A1 not to get the call or get a foul called on A1.
Not knowing the answer here, provide me with the "rights" of the defender even though he is out of position, where B1 may not be called for the foul, and where A1 could be called for the foul for initiating contact even though A1 got B1 out of position.....thanks...JP
The rule book (NCAA) referenced defender is not in the guarded position unless he in on the ground?
|
A defender reacting to a pump fake very, very rarely jumps straight up and stays vertical. Defenders falling for a pump fake got beat. The offensive player made a move and got an advantage. Barring a completely blatant shoulder lead through the defender's torso, knocking him backwards, I could not even fathom a credible PC foul in this scenario.