View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 11, 2009, 05:21pm
JP21 JP21 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Easy question for the seasoned guys.

Old question but need some clarification.

Offensive player (A1) pump fakes defender (B1) into the air. A couple of scenarios.
1. A1 initiates contact on his shot by jumping into B1, who has gone straight up with his arms? Contact is enough to have to make a call.
2. A1 pump fakes defender into the air and tries to draw the foul by maintianing his pivot foot , and steps into B1.

Easy call if B1 hammers A1, but the question is more towards B1 going up straight and not initiating contact with A1. Is there a level of initiating too much contact from A1 not to get the call or get a foul called on A1.

Not knowing the answer here, provide me with the "rights" of the defender even though he is out of position, where B1 may not be called for the foul, and where A1 could be called for the foul for initiating contact even though A1 got B1 out of position.....thanks...JP

The rule book (NCAA) referenced defender is not in the guarded position unless he in on the ground?
Reply With Quote