View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 12, 2009, 05:55pm
gslefeb gslefeb is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'd judge whether the defender's "forward jump" would have caused contact if the offensive player had not also moved forward. If so, I'd likely have a foul on the defense. If the defender would not have made contact, then the offense must give him room to come down. So, it's either a PC foul or a no-call (if no advantage was gained -- and I'd say that's the case in most "real life" plays where the offense moves forward).
I thought:
A ball handler or shooter does not have to "give him room to come down". But a player without the ball can not move under and occupy the landing space of an airborne player (must provide a place to land)

Am I wrong?

In the OP question - No foul on defense, probably no call on A1 unless he under cuts the airborne B1.

In the next example - depends on how much B1 moves forward - if slightly same as above, if more then if contact foul on B1.
Reply With Quote