Quote:
Originally Posted by JP21
Offensive player (A1) pump fakes defender (B1) into the air. A couple of scenarios.
1. A1 initiates contact on his shot by jumping into B1, who has gone straight up with his arms? Contact is enough to have to make a call.
2. A1 pump fakes defender into the air and tries to draw the foul by maintianing his pivot foot , and steps into B1.
Easy call if B1 hammers A1, but the question is more towards B1 going up straight and not initiating contact with A1. Is there a level of initiating too much contact from A1 not to get the call or get a foul called on A1.
Not knowing the answer here, provide me with the "rights" of the defender even though he is out of position, where B1 may not be called for the foul, and where A1 could be called for the foul for initiating contact even though A1 got B1 out of position.....thanks...JP
The rule book (NCAA) referenced defender is not in the guarded position unless he in on the ground?
|
A defender may jump straight up & extend their arms vertically and still be in legal guarding position... at ALL levels of play.
If A1 is intiating the contact, I wouldn't call a foul in A1s favor even IF the defender doesn't have LGP.
That being said, I have rarely seen an offensive foul called on A1 for the pump fake & intiating the contact on jump shots. Maybe on a lay-up, but rarely on the jumper... usually a no call.