The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
While I am of the same opinion as you, the rules (case plays) tell us EXPLICITLY that when officials give differing signals, you assess both as a double foul. It doesn't matter at all whether I am of this OPINION or not.

And as for selling it, it's amazingly easy. You just start the sentence by saying, "Coach, BY RULE. . ."
I had this twice last season (yikes!!!) in two different games. I was working with the same official who just refuses to refrain from giving preliminary signals whether it is in his primary or not and it got us in trouble on two bang, bang, got it sell it calls in my primary (lead). Regardless, I got both coaches together and did just what Scrapper suggested, "Coaches, by rule, we have a double foul situation..." In both games (one a playoff game), the coaches accepted the explanantion and we went on from POI. I pregame this every time no matter the level of game or experience of partner(s). This one official just refuses and gives a prelim on every call.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Scrapper, M&M - good explanation, thanks. I will add that to my pregame.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 505
Walter, thanks. Will add that (hold up on prelim signal) to my pre-game as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelinMan View Post
Walter, thanks. Will add that (hold up on prelim signal) to my pre-game as well.
Yes, its called "blow and hold" and its one of the best tools you can have in your toolbag.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by walter View Post
I had this twice last season (yikes!!!) in two different games. I was working with the same official who just refuses to refrain from giving preliminary signals whether it is in his primary or not and it got us in trouble on two bang, bang, got it sell it calls in my primary (lead). Regardless, I got both coaches together and did just what Scrapper suggested, "Coaches, by rule, we have a double foul situation..." In both games (one a playoff game), the coaches accepted the explanantion and we went on from POI. I pregame this every time no matter the level of game or experience of partner(s). This one official just refuses and gives a prelim on every call.
I thought double foul (and Double T)= arrow?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I thought double foul (and Double T)= arrow?
POI (which might be arrow, might not)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
POI (which might be arrow, might not)
So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?
Rule 4-36. If there was team control, then ball is given to the team last in control at the time of the double foul.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:25am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?
Depends if there is a shot released prior to contact or not.

And yes, if the shot is released first, the basket will count and B will get the ball for an end-line throwin. (assuming it's made)
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Depends if there is a shot released prior to contact or not.

And yes, if the shot is released first, the basket will count and B will get the ball for an end-line throwin. (assuming it's made)
Really? I thought a double foul voided the option for the basket to count.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
So what's the POI on the infamous blarge? Lead has a PC and C has a block?
I may be corrected on this, but I believe a double foul in the case of blarge with an airborn shooter involved, it would void the basket - the ball would become dead immediately, with no team control, so you would go to the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
I may be corrected on this, but I believe a double foul in the case of blarge with an airborn shooter involved, it would void the basket - the ball would become dead immediately, with no team control, so you would go to the arrow.
Yep, you would be corrected on this. Normally you would be right that you would not count the basket after a player-control foul. But the case play 4.19.8 Sit C tells us it is not considered a player-control foul, it is instead a double foul, and if there is a basket, the basket is scored.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 26, 2008, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Yep, you would be corrected on this. Normally you would be right that you would not count the basket after a player-control foul. But the case play 4.19.8 Sit C tells us it is not considered a player-control foul, it is instead a double foul, and if there is a basket, the basket is scored.
Yeah just looked it up. I stand corrected. Sorry if I caused any confusion. This is how we learn...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Whistle grunewar Basketball 3 Fri Dec 07, 2007 09:17am
Double whistle Ch1town Basketball 15 Fri Jul 20, 2007 09:42am
double whistle and 2 different calls... JohnBark Basketball 23 Thu Nov 02, 2006 07:51am
Different Double Whistle cmckenna Basketball 10 Tue Jan 24, 2006 08:52am
Double whistle - sitch mick Basketball 30 Thu Sep 19, 2002 12:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1