![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
1. Whoever called this obviously needs to read 9.8 Art. 10 on pg. 58 of the Fed. Rule book for the '06-'07 season. Art. 1... A player shall not while closely guarded: a. In his/her frontcourt, hold the ball for five seconds or dribble the ball for five seconds. b. In his/her frontcourt, control the ball for five seconds in an area enclosed by screening teammates. 2. Page 42 in the Case Book states 5.8.3 Situation D: A1 or A2 requests a time-out: (a) while airborne A1 is holding the ball; (b) while A1’s throw-in is in flight toward A2; or (c) when the ball is on the floor at A1’s disposal for a throw-in. Ruling: The request is granted in (a) and (c), but denied in (b), as there is no player control while the ball is loose between players. 3. This is true as far as I know. You cannot be the FIRST person to touch the ball inbounds after you have stepped OOB. I cannot find the rule, and I am sure someone else will, or else they will correct me if I am wrong. 4. In the Case Book, on page 26 4.19.3 Situation D: Late in the fourth quarter Team B is trailing by six points. Team B's head coach begins to yell to his or her players to "foul, foul, foul!" B1 responds by (a) grabbing A1 from behind, or (b) reaching for the ball but illegally contacting A1 on the arm. Ruling: In (a), an intentional foul shall be called. In (b), a common foul shall be called as B1 was making a legitimate attempt to "play the ball." Comment: Fouling near the end of a game is an acceptable coaching and playing strategy. Officials must determine if a foul is intentional by judging the fouling act itself, not whether or not the coach instructed a player to perform the act. 5. As far as this one goes, In Kansas, our Area Assignor told us they are not required to be the same color. Im pretty sure he said they could be any color, but I'm not 100% on it, so don't quote me on it. As far as the OOB balls go, I will allow a coach to POLITELY ask me if my partner might have had a better look, and if they haven't been arguing every little call throughout the night, I will usually oblige and ask my partner if he saw clearly who the ball last touched. As far as letting stuff drop, you shouldn't bring it up after the 2nd DEAD BALL following the occurrence, because after the 2nd dead ball, NO official may correct an error, thus, all you will be doing is irritating the official and possibly earning a Tech and be forced to sit the rest of the game. Those are my thoughts, and others may not agree. ![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Coach's Question | johnnyrao | Basketball | 25 | Wed Dec 22, 2004 07:37pm |
Coach's Tip-Off | parepat | Football | 4 | Wed Nov 05, 2003 06:30pm |
Coach's Box | Barry C. Morris | Basketball | 14 | Thu Sep 13, 2001 03:32pm |
Coach's BS | oppool | Softball | 4 | Thu Jun 14, 2001 11:50am |
Extended Coach's Box | Mark Dexter | Basketball | 14 | Sat Jan 06, 2001 12:34am |