The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2005, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Ok, how about this - the rule states:
Art. 1. A player shall not be permitted to have any part of his or her body remain in the three-second lane for more than three consecutive seconds while the ball is in control of that player’s team in his or her front court.

Yes, there's team control. And, yes, the ball establishes front court status when it's touched inbounds. But is that considered "in control of that player's team in his or her front court"? I always thought that was a slight, but important distinction. When you hand the ball to the player for the throw-in, there is team control, but the ball isn't in the front court, it's OOB. Even though the player may be standing under their own basket, it's not in the front court.

Maybe I'm splitting the wrong hairs, but I would only start the 3-sec. count when the throw-in team establishes control in the front court, not when the ball establishes front court status. Am I splitting the right hairs, or am I using wrong-headed logic to prove the point?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1