View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2005, 11:48am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Rule 9, under Three Second Rule, 2005 version:

A team in control of the ball for a throw-in adjacent to a front-court boundary line may not be called for a three-second violation.
But as soon as the throw-in is released toward the court, that team is no longer in control for a throw-in adjacent to the frontcourt.

Isn't that the whole issue here? We all know that there's team control. The question is whether the exception that you quoted above applies to the duration of the throw-in or only to the period of time when the ball is at the disposal of, or in the hands of, the inbounder.

Is it really clear and I'm just muddying the waters? It just doesn't seem to be cut-and-dried to me from the rules that have been quoted so far.

And just to make my position perfectly clear, I think you're right in that the NCAA position is that you can't have a 3-second violation during a throw-in. But it just isn't spelled out very well in the rulebook.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote