View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 01, 2005, 03:03pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
You have decided to misread it to re-define when the team control ends on the throw-in.
AAAAUUUUURRRRRGGGGGHHHHHH!!!!!!! No. That's not what I'm saying at all. And I've already said a couple of times that I'm not saying that. We all know that team control begins when the ball is at the disposal of the inbounding team. And it continues until the opponent secures control or until the ball becomes dead or until a try or tap is released. I get it.

The rule says "A team in control of the ball for a throw-in adjacent to a front-court boundary line may not be called for a three-second violation."

You stop reading at "in control of the ball". My point is that if all they cared about was team control, which is how you're reading it, then why did they include the phrase "for a throw-in"? Why not just say "A team in control of the ball may not be called for a 3-second violation before the throw-in has ended"? That's what you're claiming the rule says -- and what I readily grant is what the rule should say -- so why did they use the phrase "in control for a throw-in"? Could it possibly mean "while the inbounder is holding the ball"?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote