The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2. Since the shooter A1 is holding a live ball inbounds, but the clock has not started, does team A have team control? If so, is the foul a team control foul on A2? Does the foul by A2 kill the shot, like if an offensive player commits a foul before the ball is released, you kill the play. Does A1 still get two free throws? Or is the first one gone, and we award the second?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Frank, assuming you meant "along" the lane (if A2 was in the lane, then we have a violation first and disregard the foul unless it's intentional or flagrant), this is a team control foul. It does not "cancel" (for lack of a better word) A1's FTs. Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Follow up: If the ball had been released, then there is no team control, and B would shoot free throws if they were in the bonus?

Thank you for the edititng. I did mean along the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
Chuck, can you be kind and explain why B is not able to run the endline? Is it because of the TC status? clarification please.

__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
Follow up: If the ball had been released, then there is no team control, and B would shoot free throws if they were in the bonus?
Right.

Quote:

Thank you for the edititng. I did mean along the line.
You did type "edititng" on purpose, didn't you?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
Chuck, can you be kind and explain why B is not able to run the endline? Is it because of the TC status? clarification please.

I think B gets to run the end-line. 7-5-7
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
Chuck, can you be kind and explain why B is not able to run the endline? Is it because of the TC status? clarification please.

I think B gets to run the end-line. 7-5-7
NCAA 7-5.7 only applies to fouls that are committed after a successful goal. Since the foul here occurs before the try is successful, 7-5.7 does not apply.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
Chuck, can you be kind and explain why B is not able to run the endline? Is it because of the TC status? clarification please.

I think B gets to run the end-line. 7-5-7
Even if A misses the second shot?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
A1 is on the free throw line to shoot 2 shots. While holding the ball (ball not released yet) A2, in the lane, pushes B2.

Clear the lane, shoot the FTs, then give the ball to B on the endline for a spot throw-in. If Team B is in the bonus, they will not shoot FTs.
Chuck, can you be kind and explain why B is not able to run the endline? Is it because of the TC status? clarification please.

I think B gets to run the end-line. 7-5-7
NCAA 7-5.7 only applies to fouls that are committed after a successful goal. Since the foul here occurs before the try is successful, 7-5.7 does not apply.
7-4-1c
8-4-1a
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
TC, decides DS throw-in whether FT's are successful or not. Is that safe to say.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
TC, decides DS throw-in whether FT's are successful or not. Is that safe to say.
Actually, the only thing team control decides is whether B shoots FT's or not; it doesn't help determine if the throw-in is a spot or endline throw-in.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
TC, decides DS throw-in whether FT's are successful or not. Is that safe to say.
Actually, the only thing team control decides is whether B shoots FT's or not; it doesn't help determine if the throw-in is a spot or endline throw-in.
I am trying to collect my bearings on this situation. The foul occurred while A had team control(at FTer disposal). since a foul occurred while A1 had control. "A1" will finish his/her FT's and B will get a DS throw-in regardless if the FT's are successful or not. Correct?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
TC, decides DS throw-in whether FT's are successful or not. Is that safe to say.
Actually, the only thing team control decides is whether B shoots FT's or not; it doesn't help determine if the throw-in is a spot or endline throw-in.
I am trying to collect my bearings on this situation. The foul occurred while A had team control(at FTer disposal). since a foul occurred while A1 had control. "A1" will finish his/her FT's and B will get a DS throw-in regardless if the FT's are successful or not. Correct?
Forget TC.

What happens if there's a foul during the FT before the bonus?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,241
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

Forget TC.

What happens if there's a foul during the FT before the bonus?
Exactly. B gets to run the baseline if the last FT is successful, and it's a spot throw-in if the last FT is unsuccessful.

See FED cases 4.19.8, 4.19.9A, 7.5.7F
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

Forget TC.

What happens if there's a foul during the FT before the bonus?
Exactly. B gets to run the baseline if the last FT is successful, and it's a spot throw-in if the last FT is unsuccessful.

See FED cases 4.19.8, 4.19.9A, 7.5.7F
...as long as the foul is committed by teammate of the free-thrower at a location closer to the endline than to the sideline. If the foul is committed by an opponent of the free-thrower or at a location closer to the sideline, then the throw-in will be a designated spot throw-in. (The original post had the foul committed by a teammate of the free-thrower along the lane, so B would retain the right to run.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1