The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 06:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

Note: When do we ever (by the manual) hand the ball to the free thrower (see a. above)? I haven't done that for over thirty years. Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?
To what manual are you referring? I do not believe that the CCA manual indicates anything about bouncing the ball to the shooter of a technical foul FT as it does other FTs.

Indeed, no one does it.

(I have done it twice and it was because the shooter (a captain) had quick questions. I handed him the ball and slowly retreated)

As far as the OP, NFHS case 6.1.2 sit B provides wording that indicates when a throw-in is available, all in the same language that we have used in this thread.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 07:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 07:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
To what manual are you referring? I do not believe that the CCA manual indicates anything about bouncing the ball to the shooter of a technical foul FT as it does other FTs.

Indeed, no one does it.

(I have done it twice and it was because the shooter (a captain) had quick questions. I handed him the ball and slowly retreated)

As far as the OP, NFHS case 6.1.2 sit B provides wording that indicates when a throw-in is available, all in the same language that we have used in this thread.
Not that NFHS is different, but why are you referencing the CCA manual in a discussion of high school mechanics?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Not that NFHS is different, but why are you referencing the CCA manual in a discussion of high school mechanics?
To illustrate that there is a manual, from a governing body, that does not dictate the ball be bounced to the FT shooter for Technical/Intentional fouls. Ergo, it could be the same for another governing body. Furthermore, I asked to get clarification as many, many posters reference more than one governing body without directly indicating it. lastly, I do not have my NFHS manual readily available and thought it easier just to ask
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,657
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
As far as the OP, NFHS case 6.1.2 sit B provides wording that indicates when a throw-in is available, all in the same language that we have used in this thread.
6.1.2 SITUATION B: Team A has just scored a goal. The ball is bouncing close
to the end line when: (a) A1 calls for a time-out; or (b) A1 illegally contacts B1.
RULING: In order to rule correctly, it depends on whether the bouncing ball is
judged to be at the thrower’s disposal. If the covering official judges it is at the
thrower’s disposal, he/she would start the count and the ball becomes live. In this
case, in (a), no time-out is granted and the foul in (b), is penalized. If the ball is
not at the thrower’s disposal, the time-out is granted in (a), and the contact in (b),
is ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant. COMMENT: In this situation, the covering
official must give the new throw-in team a moment or two to recognize it is
their ball for a throw-in and get a player into the area to pick up the ball. If the ball
is near the end line, it is the throw-in team’s responsibility to secure it and throwin
from anywhere out of bounds along the end line. The covering official shall
start his/her throw-in count when it is determined the ball is available. (4-4-7d)
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,657
Follow The Bouncing Ball ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I do not believe that the CCA manual indicates anything about bouncing the ball to the shooter of a technical foul FT as it does other FTs. Indeed, no one does it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
To illustrate that there is a manual, from a governing body, that does not dictate the ball be bounced to the FT shooter for Technical/Intentional fouls.
According to the IAABO Two Person Manual, there is (by the book) no differentiation between administering technical foul free throws, intentional foul free throws, or any other type of free throw shooting situation. Two officials are involved in all free throw situations, the trail has his coverage responsibilities, and the lead has his coverage responsibilities, including bouncing the ball to the free throw shooter.

Note: Over thirty years ago there were many free throw shooting situations where the trail handed the ball to the free throw shooter, always from the shooter's left side, but that ancient mechanic went the way of the buggy whip.

__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 10:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Generally -- when the team has the ball OOB and is facing the court -- or could reasonably be expected to do so.
I will slightly disagree. While this is probably the way we do it in practice most of the time...there are times I dont. I have seen way too many teams take too much time getting the ball, going OOB, and facing the Court, to avoid a press or take time to figure out the press... (or letting the ball bounce determining who is going to make a throw in while there is a press).

What do you do if its the team who was just scored on hit the ball and has to track it down? Do you call them for a delay of game warning? Or do you just start the 5 second count?

If they were trying to get it to another player OOB for the throw-in and their toss went errant. The ball was available when the player secured the ball? Do they get extra time because he couldn't get it to the inbound thrower correctly?

Clearly the intent of the rules is for the offense to make a prompt throw-in, not be able to run time unreasonably, give a fair playing field to those who want to press...

Not sure when the best time to start it but it may not be OOB facing the floor...
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Question how about this wrinkle

So, had a game this season with this same situation, with the only difference being the scoring team (the one with no timeouts) knocking the ball well out of the way in an attempt to prompt the delay of game warning--which stops the clock, because there was no other way they were going to be able to stop it. Do you go ahead and grant the delay of game warning, knowing that it's a gamesmanship situation, or do you ignore the violation because it's (in essence) rewarding them for their illegal act?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 19, 2017, 09:58pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjfxvii View Post
So, had a game this season with this same situation, with the only difference being the scoring team (the one with no timeouts) knocking the ball well out of the way in an attempt to prompt the delay of game warning--which stops the clock, because there was no other way they were going to be able to stop it. Do you go ahead and grant the delay of game warning, knowing that it's a gamesmanship situation, or do you ignore the violation because it's (in essence) rewarding them for their illegal act?
Check out casebook 9.2.10.A... specifically, the comment following that case play.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 07:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post

Not sure when the best time to start it but it may not be OOB facing the floor...
That's why I added "or could reasonably be expected to do so" -- and all of your examples fit under that umbrella.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 07:50am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,439
Personally, I think the new lead at halfcourt should just call a 5-second violation.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by rich View Post
personally, i think the new lead at halfcourt should just call a 5-second violation.
lol!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 12:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjfxvii View Post
So, had a game this season with this same situation, with the only difference being the scoring team (the one with no timeouts) knocking the ball well out of the way in an attempt to prompt the delay of game warning--which stops the clock, because there was no other way they were going to be able to stop it. Do you go ahead and grant the delay of game warning, knowing that it's a gamesmanship situation, or do you ignore the violation because it's (in essence) rewarding them for their illegal act?
How much time was remaining when the ball went through the basket?

If more than 5 seconds, administer as normal.

If 5 seconds or less, then no. If the new offensive team is actually trying to do the throw-in, then you call a technical foul. If the new offensive team is not trying to complete the throw-in, then you ignore the infraction and let the clock run.

The case play spells it out.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 12:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
Personally, I think the new lead at halfcourt should just call a 5-second violation.
That would make a hell of a video.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 20, 2017, 01:07pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
That would make a hell of a video.
Someone might have to post it once, twice, or 384 times.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS-10 second count start on inbounds? midwestref Basketball 9 Fri Nov 14, 2014 02:37pm
Starting count on inbounds JWP Basketball 7 Sat Nov 17, 2012 02:50pm
Player Control and count the basket, NFHS? jritchie Basketball 13 Thu Nov 05, 2009 09:11am
NFHS: Does the Run Count? Spence Baseball 4 Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:49am
Inbound spot on tech (NFHS) mplagrow Basketball 6 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1