The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
Player Control and count the basket, NFHS?

Big discussion last night at the local meeting. A1 going in for layup, releases the ball, B1 set in legal guarding position under basket in plenty of time, B2 goaltends A1's shot: a: before A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul, b: after A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul.

Our leader of the group was trying to say the basket counts either situation, but if you go by when the ball is dead 6-7-4, there is no way to count it in situation b, because the ball is now dead.

I first thought he was crazy in both situations, but after looking into the first one, I came to the conclusion the offensive team can get an awarded basket because of the violation before the player control foul and that can't be ignored. Was a good discussion.
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
Big discussion last night at the local meeting. A1 going in for layup, releases the ball, B1 set in legal guarding position under basket in plenty of time, B2 goaltends A1's shot: a: before A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul, b: after A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul.

Our leader of the group was trying to say the basket counts either situation, but if you go by when the ball is dead 6-7-4, there is no way to count it in situation b, because the ball is now dead.

I first thought he was crazy in both situations, but after looking into the first one, I came to the conclusion the offensive team can get an awarded basket because of the violation before the player control foul and that can't be ignored. Was a good discussion.
If the goal tended occurred before the crash (A) the basket would count. In B, the basket would not count.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
big discussion last night at the local meeting. A1 going in for layup, releases the ball, b1 set in legal guarding position under basket in plenty of time, b2 goaltends a1's shot: A: Before a1 crashes into b1 for the player control foul, b: After a1 crashes into b1 for the player control foul.

Our leader of the group was trying to say the basket counts either situation, but if you go by when the ball is dead 6-7-4, there is no way to count it in situation b, because the ball is now dead.

I first thought he was crazy in both situations, but after looking into the first one, i came to the conclusion the offensive team can get an awarded basket because of the violation before the player control foul and that can't be ignored. Was a good discussion.
4.19.6
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,673
Send a message via MSN to IREFU2 Send a message via Yahoo to IREFU2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jritchie View Post
Big discussion last night at the local meeting. A1 going in for layup, releases the ball, B1 set in legal guarding position under basket in plenty of time, B2 goaltends A1's shot: a: before A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul, b: after A1 crashes into B1 for the player control foul.

Our leader of the group was trying to say the basket counts either situation, but if you go by when the ball is dead 6-7-4, there is no way to count it in situation b, because the ball is now dead.

I first thought he was crazy in both situations, but after looking into the first one, I came to the conclusion the offensive team can get an awarded basket because of the violation before the player control foul and that can't be ignored. Was a good discussion.
There is a play in the case book dealing with that.....dont have my book, but I remember it.....
__________________
Score the Basket!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 07:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,995
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
4.19.6
4.19.6 SITUATION A: B1 obtains a legal position in A1s path before A becomes airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. (a) Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference; or (b) after the foul on A1, B2 slaps the ball on its downward flight. RULING: In (a), both the violation and the foul are penalized. The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a playercontrol foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score. In (b), the ball becomes dead and the try ends immediately when the player-control foul on A1 occurs. The action of B2 is ignored as goaltending cannot occur after the try has ended. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-1; 6-7-4; 6-7-9 Exception; 7-5-4a; 9-11)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
NBA Somewhat related

As a Celtics fan, I get a bang out of Kevin Garnett never letting the opponent score on a practice shot after a whistle causes the play to become dead. He always 'goaltends' the practice shot.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
As a Celtics fan, I get a bang out of Kevin Garnett never letting the opponent score on a practice shot after a whistle causes the play to become dead. He always 'goaltends' the practice shot.
This is an interesting situation in the "lower" levels. Who thinks this is okay to do? I'm thinking that this needs to be addressed if it is happening in a high school or college game (emulating their idols). Saying something along the lines of "When you are playing for the Boston Celtics then this will be legal"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart View Post
This is an interesting situation in the "lower" levels. Who thinks this is okay to do?
I do, mainly because I know of no rule prohibiting it.

I'd be after the shooter instead, for not passing the ball directly to an official in accordance with 10-3-5b.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 515
Usually it is a player that is fouled right before he/she is in the act of shooting but the officials whistle is a tad slow so they actually do start their motion and continue and shoot.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 04:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by All_Heart View Post
Usually it is a player that is fouled right before he/she is in the act of shooting but the officials whistle is a tad slow so they actually do start their motion and continue and shoot.
Then why penalize a different (or even the same player) for playing through the whistle when they think the shot may or may not count?

If the foul is that close to being a shooting foul, don't penalize them for this.

If the foul is so much before the shooting motion that everyone knows it's just a "practice shot," then that's what the player gets for shooting a dead ball. He can take his practice shots after the game is over.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I do, mainly because I know of no rule prohibiting it.

I'd be after the shooter instead, for not passing the ball directly to an official in accordance with 10-3-5b.
Yep. My standard admonishment is, "Hey, practice on your own time."
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,188
Quote:
The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged.
If the ball is dead, and the contact is not intentional or flagrant, how can the foul be committed?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 04, 2009, 10:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
If the ball is dead, and the contact is not intentional or flagrant, how can the foul be committed?
Check out the airborne shooter section under Rule 4.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 05, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
If the ball is dead, and the contact is not intentional or flagrant, how can the foul be committed?
There are additional ways a personal foul can be committed with a dead ball. See 4-1, especially the Note.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player Control and Team Control fouls MelbRef Basketball 15 Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm
Offensive foul - player control - basket goes in dknick78 Basketball 3 Sun Feb 26, 2006 08:16am
Player control vs Team control foul QuebecRef87 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am
basket good on player control foul? thumpferee Basketball 5 Sat Nov 27, 2004 02:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1