The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
NFHS: Does the Run Count?

NFHS: R2 R3 1 out.

Fly ball in the gap. F8 makes a diving catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 didn't tag and was almost to 3rd base when it was caught. He gets thrown out at 2nd trying to get back.

If it was clear that R3 scored before R2 was called out should R3's run count?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Yes. Time play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
NFHS: R2 R3 1 out.

Fly ball in the gap. F8 makes a diving catch. R3 tags and scores. R2 didn't tag and was almost to 3rd base when it was caught. He gets thrown out at 2nd trying to get back.

If it was clear that R3 scored before R2 was called out should R3's run count?

Yes.

Contrary to popular opinion, the out on R2 is NOT a force - it's an appeal. Therefore it's a timing play.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 08:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: West of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 381
The only 3 ways(I can think of) the run doesn't score are:

If R3 did leave early and the defense appeals that, even after the out at 2B. Then, you would recognize a 4th out and remove the run.

Or, R2 is called out before R3 scores.

Or, R3 misses HP and that is appealed.

Otherwise, R3 scores b/c this is not a force play. It is a timing play.
__________________
Question everything until you get an irrefutable or understandable answer...Don't settle for "That's Just the Way it is"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 27, 2009, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
Contrary to popular opinion, the out on R2 is NOT a force - it's an appeal. Therefore it's a timing play.
Your answer is correct in this instance, but your reasoning is not, since it suggests that an appeal play as such is NEVER a force play.

That's not true. There are 2 kinds of (baserunning) appeal play (I know that you know all this, Rich, but I'm pointing it out for others):

1. A retouch appeal, which is what we have here. Retouch appeals are NEVER force plays, so if there's a play at the plate it would be a time play.

2. A missed base appeal. Missed base appeals ARE force plays when the runner was forced to the base he missed. This factor can come into play when determining whether a given play is a time play.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 second count, AP mutantducky Basketball 7 Sat Dec 13, 2008 02:27pm
does the run count? ggk Baseball 6 Fri Sep 15, 2006 05:00am
count it or not? elecref Basketball 11 Fri Oct 14, 2005 09:06pm
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am
5 Second count? Suppref Basketball 20 Sun May 20, 2001 09:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1