The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 08:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Question

8th grade tournament, championship game NFHS rules. Coach calls his 6th timeout and is assessed the technical during a dead ball. The ref put the ball in play at the original spot after the shots. I thought all technicals went to midcourt? I asked the ref after the game, and he said he was pretty sure that certain technicals, I guess administrative, you go to the original spot. Is that right?
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 08:11pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Sounds like he's confusing NCAA and NFHS rules. The throw-in for all technical fouls under NFHS rules are at center opposite the table.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 08:31pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Did he give the ball to the team that shot the free throws?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Posts: 832
Yes he did. I assumed they had called an intentional foul since he was putting it inbound at the baseline where the last play occurred. Turns out there was no foul on the play, just an OOB, and the trailing coach called a TO with 9.4 seconds left. The team in the lead shot two and got the ball on the baseline where it went OOB.
__________________
Quitters never win, winners never quit, but those who never win AND never quit are idiots.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
NFHS

ALL TECHNICAL FOULS THROW-INS ARE FROM THE DIVISION LINE, OPPOSITE TABLE.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2006, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Re: NFHS

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
ALL TECHNICAL FOULS THROW-INS ARE FROM THE DIVISION LINE, OPPOSITE TABLE.
Not true if it's a double technical foul. A double-T would result in resuming play from the point of interruption.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 20, 2006, 12:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
That's not a technical foul throw-in. That a POI throw-in.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1