The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 09:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 188
NFHS 5 second inbound count starting

After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 10:10pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.

I do not think that anyone can answer your question without seeing a video of the play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.
Very risky for the inbounding team, unless their coach was watching the official's count. Easily could have had a violation with the opposing team having enough time to get off a shot. If behind, I would have tried to save a timeout for this situation, but if not, I would call timeout anyway, and hope for some misses.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 10:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulsonj72 View Post
After a made field goal when does the 5 second count for the ball to be inbounded. In a state qualifier in Minnesota tonight a team scored with about 6 seconds to go to cut the lead to 1 and was out of time outs. The team in the lead never inbounded the ball and won by 1. IIRC the count begins when the ball is placed at the disposal of the player throwing the ball inbounds and since there were less than 5 seconds left when this happened the game ended. Is this the proper way to handle the situation.
There is no specific objective starting point. The count, as signaled by the administering official, begins when he/she feels that the ball is at the disposal of the inbounding team.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 17, 2017, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I do not think that anyone can answer your question without seeing a video of the play.

MTD, Sr.
Unfortunately(as far as I know)there is no video of the said play(or at least posted). The game was not televised so that makes it harder to find. :-(
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
There is no specific objective starting point. The count, as signaled by the administering official, begins when he/she feels that the ball is at the disposal of the inbounding team.
That is entirely true. However, it is also true that it does not start as soon as the shot is made or even when a player catches or picks up the ball after falls from the basket. The throwing team should be given sufficient time to recover the ball and get into a position where they could make a legal throwin with it (OOB at the very minimum) before the count should start. Usually, that is 2-3 seconds unless the ball and players were not in a position to quickly get the ball and get OOB with it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 05:09am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,637
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
There is no specific objective starting point.
True.

The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the
disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.

A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.


When is the ball available to the player?

Through the basket? On the floor? In the inbounder's hands inbounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the wall behind the basket? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the court?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
... it does not start as soon as the shot is made or even when a player catches or picks up the ball after falls from the basket. The throwing team should be given sufficient time to recover the ball and get into a position where they could make a legal throwin with it (OOB at the very minimum) before the count should start.
For practical purposes, I agree with Camron Rust 100%, but that's not what the rule says.

Same issue for granting a timeout to the scoring team after a goal.

The ball becomes live when:
b. On a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower.


At what point will the official not grant a timeout to the scoring team after a goal? When is the ball at the disposal of the player (available to the player)?

Ball on the floor? In the inbounder's hands inbounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds? In the inbounder's hands out of bounds facing the wall behind the basket?



When does the official start counting? When the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder.

When is the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder? When the official starts counting.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 06:40am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 09:02am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
There's no way an official with any level of actual experience is going to start a count quickly enough to master when the team scored with 6 seconds left.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,381
Made shot with 6 seconds left, game is over if the other team inbounds it 99.999% of the time. It should be 100% but there are some officials who will try to be "cute" and "smart" and completely kick this.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 10:51am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
Very risky for the inbounding team, unless their coach was watching the official's count. Easily could have had a violation with the opposing team having enough time to get off a shot. If behind, I would have tried to save a timeout for this situation, but if not, I would call timeout anyway, and hope for some misses.
Well, some folks think we should ignore timeout requests when we know the team has no timeouts left.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,415
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
When does the official start counting? When the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder.

When is the ball is at the disposal of the inbounder? When the official starts counting.
I'll add the following question...

On any other throw in administered by an official, when does the ball become available to the thrower? Does it start when we know they should have a throwin (on the infraction that stops the clock) or when we actually give them the ball OOB? If we bounce them the ball, does it start as we bounce them the ball or when they catch the ball?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 12:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,637
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
On any other throw in administered by an official, when does the ball become available to the thrower? Does it start when we know they should have a throwin (on the infraction that stops the clock) or when we actually give them the ball OOB? If we bounce them the ball, does it start as we bounce them the ball or when they catch the ball?
Ask and it will be given to you; seek and ye shall find ... (Matthew 7:7)

4-4-7: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower.
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.
c. Placed on the floor at the spot.
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.


Now we just need a NFHS definition for "available to a player" (only for after a basket) and we're ready to rock and roll.

For the good of the cause: The nonshooting team can be granted a timeout before the bounced ball is caught by the free thrower.

The ball becomes live when: On a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.

Note: When do we ever (by the manual) hand the ball to the free thrower (see a. above)? I haven't done that for over thirty years. Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 18, 2017 at 03:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 03:48pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,230
"at the disposal of the thrower" after a made basket is entirely up to the judgement of the official. That's why we make the big bucks.

You'll never find a book interpretation of exactly how long that takes, because it can vary greatly... a if it goes through the hoop and is caught by a member of Team B, it's at their disposal within a second or so. If the ball takes a weird bounce or inadvertently caroms off a foot/knee/whatever, it's going to take a few seconds for the ball to be at Team B's disposal.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by jTheUmp View Post
"at the disposal of the thrower" after a made basket is entirely up to the judgement of the official. That's why we make the big bucks.
Generally -- when the team has the ball OOB and is facing the court -- or could reasonably be expected to do so.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 18, 2017, 05:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,637
That's My Story And I'm Sticking To It ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... when the team has the ball OOB and is facing the court, or could reasonably be expected to do so.
That's when I'm starting my five second count, and ignoring any requests by the scoring team for a timeout. If the NFHS wants to tell me I'm wrong, then I don't want to be right (with apologies to Luther Ingram).
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS-10 second count start on inbounds? midwestref Basketball 9 Fri Nov 14, 2014 02:37pm
Starting count on inbounds JWP Basketball 7 Sat Nov 17, 2012 02:50pm
Player Control and count the basket, NFHS? jritchie Basketball 13 Thu Nov 05, 2009 09:11am
NFHS: Does the Run Count? Spence Baseball 4 Mon Apr 27, 2009 10:49am
Inbound spot on tech (NFHS) mplagrow Basketball 6 Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:43am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1