The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 04:55pm
JWP JWP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 30
Starting count on inbounds

I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound after a made basket, and I am getting some conflicting advice from other refs. I did a quick glance at the rule book, but couldn't find a specific rule. Have not had a chance to look at the case book. My apologies if it is there.

Team A scores a basket. B-1 then grabs the basketball, but does not step out of bounds to throw it in. She doesn't do anything but stand there, under the basket, looking serene, as if she had found a rare flower. After 2 or 3 seconds, I start my count.

About that time, B-2 walks over, with no urgency whatsoever, takes the ball out of bounds. At this point, I am at 2 or 3 in my count, and the coach is going nuts because I am counting.

This has happened several times with the same team. Once I got up to five and called a violation. Another time, coach calls time out. Most of the time, there isn't pressure, so there is no problem. Last night, with the game out of hand, I was telling her "Get out of bounds, get out of bounds."

(Coach also got mad when I started a count when all five of his players ran down court without inbounding the ball. I have no issue with this one; his team was in the lead and the clock was running. Inbounding team was gaining an advantage).

Am I missing something? Wouldn't be the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 74
4-4-7 A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:
a. Handed to a thrower or the free thrower
b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her
c. Placed on the floor at a spot
d. Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the
throw-in count
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,373
If the team has the ball OOB or *reasonably could have* the ball OOB, start the count.

It sounds to me like you're doing it correctly, but you caould have someone in your area watch (or ask if others have had issues with the same team)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 05:20pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWP View Post
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound after a made basket, and I am getting some conflicting advice from other refs. I did a quick glance at the rule book, but couldn't find a specific rule. Have not had a chance to look at the case book. My apologies if it is there.

Team A scores a basket. B-1 then grabs the basketball, but does not step out of bounds to throw it in. She doesn't do anything but stand there, under the basket, looking serene, as if she had found a rare flower. After 2 or 3 seconds, I start my count.

About that time, B-2 walks over, with no urgency whatsoever, takes the ball out of bounds. At this point, I am at 2 or 3 in my count, and the coach is going nuts because I am counting.

This has happened several times with the same team. Once I got up to five and called a violation. Another time, coach calls time out. Most of the time, there isn't pressure, so there is no problem. Last night, with the game out of hand, I was telling her "Get out of bounds, get out of bounds."

(Coach also got mad when I started a count when all five of his players ran down court without inbounding the ball. I have no issue with this one; his team was in the lead and the clock was running. Inbounding team was gaining an advantage).

Am I missing something? Wouldn't be the first time.

Both the NFHS, NCAA, and FIBA Rules state that the count starts when the ball is "at the disposal" of the team entitled to the throw-in. Normally, after a made or goal or free throw, "at the disposal" means when a player from the team entitled to the throw-in steps out of bounds with the ball, but that presumes that B1 takes the ball out of bounds immediately after gaining possession of the ball after it has gone through the basket.

But in your play B1 decided to not take the ball immediately out of bounds after gaining possession of the ball. You were correct in taking one or two seconds to asses the situation and then correctly started your count while she was still standing inbounds while in possession of the ball.

As far as "howler monkey B" also known as B-HC, pay no attention to him because he doesn't know the rules and you do.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 15, 2012, 06:55pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
I would have started it right about the time you did, in each situation you described.

Also, if B1 slaps the ball OOB to where B2 has to chase it, I'm inclined to start about when I judge B2 would have gathered it without B1's interference.

Curiously, what sort of conflicting advice are you getting?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2012, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,025
I agree with all of the above, you're handling it correctly.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 16, 2012, 09:04am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,869
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWP View Post
I've had an issue regarding when to start the count on an inbound a throw-in after a made basket....
For future reference and ease of conversation
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 17, 2012, 02:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,375
Looping Logic ...

Would one have granted the opposing team a timeout? If no, then start counting. If yes, then don't start counting.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting again Bobby Oakes Basketball 6 Sat Jan 28, 2006 07:57pm
Inbounds-Outofbounds-Inbounds??? BoBo Football 3 Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:28am
Just Starting kwill Basketball 7 Sun Dec 19, 2004 10:48pm
Starting off with a "T" IREFU2 Basketball 10 Wed Dec 08, 2004 04:48am
Starting gostars Basketball 13 Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1