The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack (1) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  1 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
NFHS-10 second count start on inbounds?

I am having what I feel are conflicting answers to this question...on an inbounds play, A1 passes the ball, it is touched inbounds but no player secures control...does the 10 second count begin on touch or do we wait until a player secures possession to begin?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:26pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,306
You must have team control to start a 10 second count in the back court. And a touch does not establish team control.

This can be different at other levels higher than NF level, but the NF rule has not changed.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
rule?

Rule reference? I'm looking at 4-12-2d & 4-12-3...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestref View Post
Rule reference? I'm looking at 4-12-2d & 4-12-3...
you can also use 9-8. But, you'll need to combine it with the POE that says "TC during a throw-in is only for foul purposes."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Ok, I see that POE...so once the throw-in is touched then we need to wait until a player secures control to start the count, right? because, according to page 70, player control inbounds begins team control, right?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestref View Post
Rule reference? I'm looking at 4-12-2d & 4-12-3...
Also, note the following caseplay:

*4.12.2 SITUATION B:

During a throw-in by A-1 from the end line by Team As basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane area for four seconds of the throw-in count; or (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3.

RULING: Legal in (a) and (b), even though Team A is in team control during the throw-in. There is no three-second count in (a) since team control had not yet been established in Team As frontcourt. There is no backcourt violation in (b) since team control had not yet been established in team As frontcourt before the ball went into Team As backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control in his/her backcourt. (9-7, 8, 9)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
So...what I'm hearing is...

-we have team control on a throw in
-team control ends when the throw-in ends
-team control only begins again when a player secures possession of the ball
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestref View Post
So...what I'm hearing is...

-we have team control on a throw in
-team control ends when the throw-in ends
-team control only begins again
when a player secures possession of the ball
Not quite. Team control does not end when the throw-in ends, (only the throw-in has ended), it's just that team control in-bounds hasn't been established yet until player control in-bounds has been established.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestref View Post
So...what I'm hearing is...

-we have team control on a throw in
-team control ends when the throw-in ends
-team control only begins again when a player secures possession of the ball
i think what you will see in the nfhs book is that they say team control on a throw in continues until the ball is secured. if the offensive team throws the ball inbounds and the defense tips it the throw in has ended. but under the team control throw in rule if the offense fouls while the tipped ball is loose it is a team control foul. i think the first and third statements are correct. thx
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 14, 2014, 02:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestref View Post
So...what I'm hearing is...

-we have team control on a throw in
-team control ends when the throw-in ends
-team control only begins again when a player secures possession of the ball
Not quite.

What the NFHS has effectively done is to create two types of team control.

Team Control 1 begins when the throw-in begins and only has relevance to fouls committed by the team in control.
Team Control 2 begins when a player obtains control of the ball inbounds and is used for all other situations.

Both end in the same way....when the ball becomes dead, the other team obtains control, or a try is released.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/98638-nfhs-10-second-count-start-inbounds.html
Posted By For Type Date
GHSAA 2014 Video Covers New Rules Including 10.6.12 | Ohio Valley Basketball Officials Association | Cincinnati Ohio This thread Refback Sat Nov 15, 2014 06:43am

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting count on inbounds JWP Basketball 7 Sat Nov 17, 2012 02:50pm
When Does the 10 Second Count Start? Spence Basketball 4 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:45pm
when to start 10 second count BEAREF Basketball 25 Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:21pm
When Does the 10 Second Count Start FeetBallRef Basketball 9 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:00pm
10 second count, when does it start? mjbofficial Basketball 25 Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1