![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
EDIT: As far as I can see in the rule book, batting a ball does not equal player control, so batting the ball into the BC in this situation is not a violation. I'd like to hear it from others, though. Last edited by BryanV21; Sat Nov 21, 2015 at 06:31pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
I just wondered if the exemption saying the ball could go into the BC due to a tipped ball, meant that the player that tipped the ball had no sort of control of it. A player "batting" a ball leads me to believe that he directed the ball into the backcourt on purpose. Like on a previously mentioned play, where the difference between a try or tap for goal before the expiration of time, and a tipped ball before the expiration of of time, on a made basket. Kind of playing devil's advocate. |
|
|||
|
Batman ...
I believe that a try, and a tap, are treated the same for the purposes of scoring points, fouls in the act, etc. (although it hasn't always been that way).
Batting the ball is usually construed to mean no player control. Apples and oranges.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 21, 2015 at 08:04pm. |
|
|||
|
If a player "batted" a ball towards the basket before time expires, and the ball enters the basket after time expires, would you count the basket?
|
|
|||
|
Not If The Ball Is Tapped Off Of The Player's Shoulder ...
Quote:
4-41-6: A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as in 5-2-5. (three tenths of a second or less).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Player Control ...
Player saves a ball that a teammate throws toward a boundary. The player's momentum takes him out of bounds. The ball remains inbounds and the player returns inbounds, picks up the ball with two hands, and dribbles the ball.
Legal if he tapped, or tipped, or batted, the ball (no player control). Illegal if he caught the ball with one hand, and controlled it's trajectory back onto the court (player control).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Nov 21, 2015 at 08:14pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A1 in-bounds the ball to A2, who is standing in Team A's frontcourt. A2, seeing that a defender is closing in on him, knows he needs to do something to avoid a steal, so he bats the ball to the only open teammate he sees... A3, who happens to be standing in the backcourt. From what's been said this is not a violation. However, the fact that A2 purposely batted the ball to A3 indicates a pass... and therefore some form of control. The intent of the "tip" rule during an in-bounds play seems to be in reference to the ball accidentally being tipped into the backcourt, not purposely batted into the backcourt. Am I making sense? |
|
|||
|
Yup!
|
|
|||
|
Somewhere there is (or was) a rule to the effect that "batting a ball away from other players is not PC" (or maybe it said "is not part of a dribble").
Apply that to teh "bat into the back court" discussion |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Yes another backcourt question | CoachP | Basketball | 14 | Thu Mar 05, 2015 01:52pm |
| Yet another backcourt question | DenverRef | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jan 13, 2012 03:30pm |
| Backcourt Question | TussAgee11 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Feb 02, 2006 10:23pm |
| Backcourt Question | Bchill24 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 09:56am |
| Another backcourt question | ken roberts | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 16, 1999 02:29am |