The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another backcourt question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/100375-another-backcourt-question.html)

BlueDevilRef Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:19pm

Another backcourt question
 
Team A Throw in at the division line. A1 tips ball in her front court, ball goes to backcourt where she gathers. I whistled a bc violation. Now, second guessing myself. I know she can catch in bc but in my head, first touch (the tip) in fc and ball into bc was a bc violation. Help me out, my books are in the car. Does the tipped ball establish control? I'm beginning to think I missed it. Thanks


I wish I had a cool signature

AremRed Fri Nov 20, 2015 11:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 970271)
Does the tipped ball establish control?

No.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 970271)
Team A Throw in at the division line. A1 tips ball in her front court, ball goes to backcourt where she gathers. I whistled a bc violation. Now, second guessing myself. I know she can catch in bc but in my head, first touch (the tip) in fc and ball into bc was a bc violation. Help me out, my books are in the car. Does the tipped ball establish control? I'm beginning to think I missed it. Thanks

No, that's not a violation. Holding or dribbling the ball inbounds established team/player control for the purposes of BC violations.

BlueDevilRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:23am

CRAP!! I knew I was wrong. Good thing it was a 50-0 ballgame and it didn't make a diff in score. I won't mess that one up again (hopefully). Thanks fellas


I wish I had a cool signature

Raymond Sat Nov 21, 2015 10:31am

There was a really interesting conversation here on that recently. Can't believe you didn't see it.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk

BlueDevilRef Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 970289)
There was a really interesting conversation here on that recently. Can't believe you didn't see it.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk


I'll look for it. It was late last night when I got home and the situation was bugging me so I posted. But I'm GI Joe now, knowing is half the battle.


I wish I had a cool signature

Raymond Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:28pm

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...tml#post969139

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:38pm

From The Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules List ...
 
I guess that it deserves to be on the list:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 968848)
During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt, or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted, by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations.


pfan1981 Sat Nov 21, 2015 04:13pm

I was told once. Would you grant a timeout to that team? If so, then they controlled it in the front court.

SC Official Sat Nov 21, 2015 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 970336)
I was told once. Would you grant a timeout to that team? If so, then they controlled it in the front court.

This doesn't make any sense. Player control is required to grant a timeout.

pfan1981 Sat Nov 21, 2015 05:52pm

I am referring to what constitutes front court status with regard to a possible backcourt violation. If the player has possession to the point where you would grant a timeout, then you have front court status. If the player bats it to the backcourt, you would not grant a timeout in this situation, no backcourt violation.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 06:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by pfan1981 (Post 970343)
I am referring to what constitutes front court status with regard to a possible backcourt violation. If the player has possession to the point where you would grant a timeout, then you have front court status. If the player bats it to the backcourt, you would not grant a timeout in this situation, no backcourt violation.

Whoa! Does batting a ball mean there was player control? Not for calling a timeout, but for calling a BC violation?

EDIT: As far as I can see in the rule book, batting a ball does not equal player control, so batting the ball into the BC in this situation is not a violation. I'd like to hear it from others, though.

bob jenkins Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970346)
Whoa! Does batting a ball mean there was player control? Not for calling a timeout, but for calling a BC violation?

EDIT: As far as I can see in the rule book, batting a ball does not equal player control, so batting the ball into the BC in this situation is not a violation. I'd like to hear it from others, though.

Of course not -- and that's pfan's point. There was never a time when you would have granted a TO, so there was never PC in the front court, so there's no BC violation.

BryanV21 Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 970351)
Of course not -- and that's pfan's point. There was never a time when you would have granted a TO, so there was never PC in the front court, so there's no BC violation.

I was watching football at the time, so I didn't consult the rule book for a while... hence the edit.

I just wondered if the exemption saying the ball could go into the BC due to a tipped ball, meant that the player that tipped the ball had no sort of control of it. A player "batting" a ball leads me to believe that he directed the ball into the backcourt on purpose.

Like on a previously mentioned play, where the difference between a try or tap for goal before the expiration of time, and a tipped ball before the expiration of of time, on a made basket.

Kind of playing devil's advocate.

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2015 07:55pm

Batman ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 970352)
... where the difference between a try or tap for goal ....

I believe that a try, and a tap, are treated the same for the purposes of scoring points, fouls in the act, etc. (although it hasn't always been that way).

Batting the ball is usually construed to mean no player control.

Apples and oranges.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1