The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 24, 2013, 10:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fed2You View Post
In the OP, is the runner trying to get back to the bag because he didn't tag up, thus making it a force out?

Because on a play which requires the runner to be tagged, touching a runner with the glove and the ball in the other hand does not lead to an out. The ball must be in the glove if the glove is used to tag him.

From NFHS Rules By Topic (pg 85) "The tag must include the ball. If the ball isn't in the glove, the glove touching the runner has no effect."
This play (an appeal, not a force) does not require that the runner be tagged. The base can be tagged. When tagging a base the ball has to be held securely in the hand or glove and the base tagged with the body (includes gloves, shoes, hair, uniform, etc.)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules Interpretation LIUmp Softball 22 Sat Oct 01, 2011 09:02am
ASA Co-Ed Rules Interpretation Help SergioJ Softball 7 Tue May 10, 2011 12:33pm
Rules Interpretation msrock1954 Softball 5 Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:46pm
Rules Interpretation guille Basketball 9 Tue Jan 28, 2003 09:39am
ASA Rules Question/Interpretation Please Tsmokie Softball 7 Wed Apr 17, 2002 06:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1