The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
CG, if the runner is being played on as described it is Type 1 Obstruction and the ball is dead immediately. All plays after the infraction are immaterial. That would make "a" the only acceptable answer, right?
It's type 2 OBS by F6. The ball stays live until F5 gets it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It's type 2 OBS by F6. The ball stays live until F5 gets it.
DR,
I would agree except that it is contrary to the video shown at the NCAA clinic this weekend. I may be confused but if a runner is advancing and the ball is being thrown there to put him out, a play is being made on him. It doesn't have to be a rundown or force play. The throw was directly from F1 to F5 in an effort to put out the runner, right? The bobble doesn't mean much.

I hate those questions. Assuming more than what is written is always something that trips me up. Did you get that answer correct on the exam?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel View Post
DR,
I would agree except that it is contrary to the video shown at the NCAA clinic this weekend. I may be confused but if a runner is advancing and the ball is being thrown there to put him out, a play is being made on him. It doesn't have to be a rundown or force play. The throw was directly from F1 to F5 in an effort to put out the runner, right? The bobble doesn't mean much.

I hate those questions. Assuming more than what is written is always something that trips me up. Did you get that answer correct on the exam?
I think you're right. The wording of the question led me to conclude the OBS by F6 occurred well before the throw to F5. At least it's the only way a single answer makes sense, although I agree with Bob about awarding the B/R 2nd base. I would keep him at 1st.

Last edited by dash_riprock; Tue Feb 01, 2011 at 12:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Have the 2011 Rules Supplement (handed out at the clinics) in front of you when you take the test. Some of the questions are taken directly from the "Test Your Rules Knowledge" section on page 10.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 64
Thanks for the help. Still not sure what I am going to do.

One more, does NCAA have the same ruling about a batted ball that could go fair as pro rules has? That makes the difference between c and d being correct.

4. R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.

a.Score one run and put the batter at first base.
b.Score three runs and put the batter at first base.
c.Foul ball.
d.Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
Thanks for the help. Still not sure what I am going to do.

One more, does NCAA have the same ruling about a batted ball that could go fair as pro rules has? That makes the difference between c and d being correct.

4. R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.

a.Score one run and put the batter at first base.
b.Score three runs and put the batter at first base.
c.Foul ball.
d.Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
You won't find the language foul with a possiblitly to go fair in the NCAA rulebook.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 01:49pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Gentlemen, FYI, when you take and submit the test it will only tell you how many you missed (if you didn't get them all correct). It will not tell you which ones you missed (or what the correct answers should have been).

I took my test last night and didn't get them all correct, but I'll have to wait a couple of weeks until the key is posted to see which ones I missed and what the right answers should have been.

Overall I thought the test was good, but I also think the NCAA could use a few more proof readers to catch the poorly written questions.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 02:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesar's Ghost View Post
Thanks for the help. Still not sure what I am going to do.

One more, does NCAA have the same ruling about a batted ball that could go fair as pro rules has? That makes the difference between c and d being correct.

4. R1, R2, R3, one out. B5 lays down a "suicide squeeze" bunt that rolls into foul territory near the first base foul line. The ball is rolling back towards the foul line with a chance to roll fair. The pitcher instructs the catcher to "touch it foul" at which time the catcher scoops up the ball with the mask he is holding in his throwing hand.

a.Score one run and put the batter at first base.
b.Score three runs and put the batter at first base.
c.Foul ball.
d.Score three runs and put the batter at third base.
CG, I am inclined to answer 'c'.

8-3-g only speaks of detached equipment with regards to fair batted balls. That would be a three base award. That eliminates b and d. As the ball was touched by the player in foul territory I don't see how I can award a base which would force a run to score.

I will take the test tonight or tomorrow and hope our discussion helps settle things. If I am incorrect in my application of rule here please let me know. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 01, 2011, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock View Post
It's type 2 OBS by F6. The ball stays live until F5 gets it.
Same as OBR type B. If it is type 2, the ball stays live until the completion of the play. The only time you kill a type 2(B) obs is when the umpire that called the obs protects a runner to a base and that runner is tagged for an apparent out in which the umpire that called the obs also has the play. In other words, if U3 called the obs and judged that R2 is protected to third, yet a play is made on R2 where U3 would have to call him out, U3 would kill the play, award R2 third and place other runners, with possible assistance from the rest of the crew. If U3 called obs on a runner, and a play is made on that runner where another umpire has the call, PU for example, you wait until the entire play is over then get together and enforce any awards, if any, to nullify the obs.

In the additional questions posed, the first question is too vague to make a correct ruling from the options given, although d seems the most likely. We need to know when the obs occurred in relation to the throw to F5 in order to determine either type 1 or type 2 obs. If it is type 2, we need to know whether or not U3 is protecting R2 to third. For those reasons, b, c, or d could be correct.

I also agree that the second question was miswritten and should have had NOT included.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
ncaa test question newump Baseball 16 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:28pm
NCAA Test Question All_Heart Basketball 12 Tue Nov 21, 2006 06:30pm
Question on ncaa test jritchie Basketball 2 Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:45am
NCAA Test Question rockyroad Basketball 17 Fri Oct 24, 2003 07:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1