The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2005, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
reset or not shot clock????

after A1 releases the ball on a try for a goal, B1 blocks the ball. following the block A1 and B1 simultaneously cause a held ball, the possession arrow favors Team A the official awards the ball to team A and rules they will have the unexpired time on the shot clock. Is official correct? i said yes, correct answer is no... what am i missing??? i thought on a held ball that stays with team in control, the clock stays same??
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2005, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Team control ends when A1 releases the ball on a try. Team control is not reestablished before A1 and B1 cause the held ball. Since there is no team control when the held ball occurs, the shot clock is reset.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 22, 2005, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 768
i guess that is why the word "simultaneously" is there...to make sure we realize no one has team control...thanks!
__________________
DETERMINATION ALL BUT ERASES THE THIN LINE BETWEEN THE IMPOSSIBLE AND THE POSSIBLE!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1