The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:27pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
are you sure coach JM? wouldn't 3B be his next base? This part of appeals is confusing to me between the rule sets
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
are you sure coach JM? wouldn't 3B be his next base? This part of appeals is confusing to me between the rule sets
In FED if you are on or beyond the next base from the one you started from at the time the ball went into DBT you cannot return to retouch the original base, the defense can make a dead ball appeal, and you're screwed. Why? Who knows? No one else does it that way.

In OBR if you touch the next base from your current position after the time the ball went into DBT you cannot return to touch your original base.

In OBR if the runner is awarded two bases from his position at the time of the throw - subject to revision upon a retouch. So if a runner is between 2B and 3B, but has to retouch 1B, you award him home - then change it to 3B IF he goes back to retouch 1B. The rationale is to not do something that would alert the defense to the appeal possibility. If he doesn't go back and retouch he is subject to appeal. If the appeal is made he is out. If no appeal is made he scores.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Wed Aug 19, 2009 at 01:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
In FED if you are on or beyond the next base from the one you started from at the time the ball went into DBT you cannot return to retouch the original base, the defense can make a dead ball appeal, and you're screwed. Why? Who knows? No one else does it that way.

In OBR if you touch the next base from your current position after the time the ball went into DBT you cannot return to touch your original base.

In OBR if the runner is awarded two bases from his position at the time of the throw - subject to revision upon a retouch. So if a runner is between 2B and 3B, but has to retouch 1B, you award him home - then change it to 3B IF he goes back to retouch 1B. The rationale is to not do something that would alert the defense to the appeal possibility. If he doesn't go back and retouch he is subject to appeal. If the appeal is made he is out. If no appeal is made he scores.
Great explanation, Rich! I like the way you worded the difference between FED & OBR. If you don't mind, I would like to use this explanation in our next rules clinic for recruits.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900 View Post
Great explanation, Rich! I like the way you worded the difference between FED & OBR. If you don't mind, I would like to use this explanation in our next rules clinic for recruits.
No problem.

Hope you're serving cheese at the meeting ;-)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
are you sure coach JM? wouldn't 3B be his next base? This part of appeals is confusing to me between the rule sets
JM has the correct answer.

In FED, a runner cannot legally retouch if he is on of byond his "advance base" WHEN the ball becomes dead. (And, yes, somewhere in the rules, there's an exception to prevent a smart F9 from intentionally throwing the ball out of play to "trap" R1 who has advanced to far.)

In OBR, a runner cannot legally retouch if he continues to advance to the next base AFTER the ball becomes dead.

So, in zm1283's play (R1 between second and third when the ball goes dead, but returns to first): In FED, let him run, but call him out on appeal if the defense appeals his failure to tag up at first. IF the defense doesn't appeal, leave him at third.

In OBR, the retouch is legal, so any appeal at first would be denied. The runner is awarded third. (MLBUM has it as something like, the runner is first awarded home, then the award is changed to third if R1 retoouches first.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 02:19pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
makes sense fellas...thank you...hope I never see it.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

So, in zm1283's play (R1 between second and third when the ball goes dead, but returns to first): In FED, let him run, but call him out on appeal if the defense appeals his failure to tag up at first. IF the defense doesn't appeal, leave him at third.
But what do you do when he tries to return to 1B to retouch when he's not allowed to?

Also, wouldn't he be awarded home if he's between 2B and 3B when the ball is released from F8? So do you tell him he can't retouch first, and award him home and let the defense figure it out from there?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
But what do you do when he tries to return to 1B to retouch when he's not allowed to?

Also, wouldn't he be awarded home if he's between 2B and 3B when the ball is released from F8? So do you tell him he can't retouch first, and award him home and let the defense figure it out from there?
Good question. Is it that he would be called out if he tried to go retouch first or, it makes no difference? It is a strange rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 04:04pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
2 bases from his last legally occupied base. 1B is the last base legally occupied since he has a retouch obligation at 1B on a caught fly ball.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
2 bases from his last legally occupied base. 1B is the last base legally occupied since he has a retouch obligation at 1B on a caught fly ball.
How does he have a retouch obligation if he isn't allowed to retouch the base in the first place?

Have I mentioned that I HATE FED rules?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08 View Post
2 bases from his last legally occupied base. 1B is the last base legally occupied since he has a retouch obligation at 1B on a caught fly ball.
In both FED and OBR it's initially two bases from where you are positioned at the time of the throw. It's only after the re-touch (if made) that you adjust the award.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 06:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
But what do you do when he tries to return to 1B to retouch when he's not allowed to?
Watch him do it.

Quote:
Also, wouldn't he be awarded home if he's between 2B and 3B when the ball is released from F8? So do you tell him he can't retouch first, and award him home and let the defense figure it out from there?
Not in FED, no. Just award third and let the rest play itself out.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Watch him do it.



Not in FED, no. Just award third and let the rest play itself out.
So if he retouches, it's up to the defense to figure out that he can't retouch and then appeal?

Why do you only award third? FED rule/casebook reference?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
FED rule is 8-3-5.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 09:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Can't Run the Bases Backwards?

Umpire communication question: Do you "coach" an appeal out of the defense?

For example, players near the base do know a rule has been violated and complain about the runner's action to the umpire, although team members remain unaware of the "procedural" requirement for a proper appeal to be made with the "live" ball in hand.

A) Do you tell the defense you will not acknowledge an improper appeal, thus tipping the hat to the defense to follow up and make a proper appeal with the ball in hand that you will correctly acknowledge.

OR

B) Do you remain quiet and not acknowledge the initial complaint, leaving the defense with the impression you're calling him safe when in fact you're making no call on the "valid" complaint made w/out the ball in hand.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Wed Aug 19, 2009 at 09:46pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? Angler Softball 4 Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1