The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 15
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield?

First time poster:

NFHS game. R1 on 1B, 1 out. I’m the BU in the B slot. Pop fly to infield, F4 moves in to catch it. She bobbles the ball around a little. On F4’s touch R1 takes off for 2B. I take a step with the runner and watch PU for “Out/Safe.” F4, from the ground, throws the ball to 2B. R1 totally beat the ball, easy call safe.

Coach starts screaming at me telling me F4 actually caught the ball. I quiet him down, talk it over with the PU who upholds and signals the call that it was not a catch. The coach is still asking ME to tell him whether or not I saw the catch. I was only about 5 feet from the play and definitely saw the first part of the play, but not the finish. I just tell him that’s the PU’s call, and I didn’t see anything that would change it. Play ball.

My question: SHOULD I stay with a catch/no catch play like that? And if I see something different from the PU what should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
You should always try to stay with the ball on plays like this, while at the same time being mindful of any OBS/INT that might occur on the play. (Or, for that matter, any other violation). However, the call is the PU's call all the way. If it was close, he should have signalled safe with a vigorous "no catch" call to ensure that all, including his partner, knew the status of the play.

Also, never, ever, discuss any aspect of your partner's call with a coach. When you said, "That is the PU's call." that should have been your final words about it to the coach. He requires no other information from you.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Angler - Welcome to the forum!

I agree with Scott....often the BU will have a better angle to see these plays than the PU coming out from behind the plate. As PU I have been burned on this a few times with sinking line drives that were either caught or short hopped right in front of the infielder. If you are in a straight line with the fielder, it's almost impossible to see clearly.

On these plays as PU, I will hesitate a split second if I think the ball was caught and look at my partner for help. Hopefully, s/he is giving me some type of indication that the ball was either caught or short hopped (I know, more unauthorized signals ). You can also try to watch the fielder and let her tell you what happened. If she comes up throwing, the ball probably wasn't caught.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Oh yeah...where are my manners?

Welcome to the forum Angler.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 13, 2008, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi
You should always try to stay with the ball on plays like this, while at the same time being mindful of any OBS/INT that might occur on the play. (Or, for that matter, any other violation). However, the call is the PU's call all the way. If it was close, he should have signalled safe with a vigorous "no catch" call to ensure that all, including his partner, knew the status of the play.

Also, never, ever, discuss any aspect of your partner's call with a coach. When you said, "That is the PU's call." that should have been your final words about it to the coach. He requires no other information from you.
I agree with eveything you have to say, but I would only say "NO", as opposed to "NO CATCH". I don't want someone to 'miss hear' what I say and think I called "CATCH".
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Catch\No Catch NDRef Football 4 Mon Sep 18, 2006 04:11pm
Catch/No catch? seeleather Football 21 Wed Jul 26, 2006 12:16pm
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
Is this a catch? Dakota Softball 40 Fri Mar 03, 2006 05:12pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1