The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
tjones1,

In the sitch you describe, the R1 is NOT subject to an appeal under ANY rule code - as long as he proceeds to and touches 1B prior to (again) touching 2B.

If, on the other hand, had the R1 had still been between 2B & 3B at the time the throw went out of play, under FED rules he would NOT be able to "complete" his retouch of 1B, while under OBR rules he would.

JM
So lets say that in a FED game R1 is between 2B and 3B at the ToT....

1. I doubt the defense or their coaches would figure it out that he can be subject to an appeal at 1B. (Very few coaches around here would know this)

2. What if R1 tries to go back to retouch 1B? As BU, do you simply ignore him or verbally state that he can't retouch?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
These rules have always been confusing because they vary from code to code. Since you may go a year or more of umpiring without seeing it, it is hard to remember, as well. I actually cannot remember the last time I saw this type of play-maybe 6 or 7 years ago?

I have always thought it to be a very strange thing to see a guy going backwards to touch a base when time has been called and he has been awarded bases. It just looks weird.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Catch/Appeal

Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
So lets say that in a FED game R1 is between 2B and 3B at the ToT....

1. I doubt the defense or their coaches would figure it out that he can be subject to an appeal at 1B. (Very few coaches around here would know this)

2. What if R1 tries to go back to retouch 1B? As BU, do you simply ignore him or verbally state that he can't retouch?
The ball remains in play until the ball enters DBT. The TOT is only used for a reference point for base awards. If R1 was between 2B and 3B at TOT, R1 could still retouch 2B and 1B. R1 would only lose his right to retouch 2B and 1B if he didn't move until the ball entered DBT. If R1 was between 2B and 1B when the ball entered DBT, after retouching 1B, R1 would only get 3B.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 19, 2009, 01:44pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
correct, but I think JM is saying that if he touches 2b, he can't return to retouch 1b...my contention is that the base that he couldn't touch would be 3b to unable him to legally retouch 1b. I'm not saying he's wrong...but I think the OBR interp is what I said in this post...the fed post wouldn't really make sense but it is FED I guess.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch? TxUmp Baseball 17 Wed May 06, 2009 11:26pm
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? Angler Softball 4 Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1