The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wharton, TX
Posts: 92
Ankiel injury - Catch/No-catch?

In last nights Cardinal game, Rick Ankiel made another amazing dive and catch (?) immediately followed by a crash into the left-CF wall. The ball popped out of his glove, and the left fielder picked it up but held it in his glove as he stood over his injured team mate. He made no attempt to return the ballto the infield. Since this was definitely NOT a voluntary release of the ball, why was it rued a catch? Why was the runner not trying for the next base?
__________________
Herb McCown
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 09:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

TxUmp,

If you observe the video carefully, you will see he removed the ball from his glove just prior to crashing into the outfield wall.

Secure possession in the glove, voluntary release when he transferred the ball to his throwing hand.

That's a catch!

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wharton, TX
Posts: 92
I'll try to catch it again on ESPN, but I did not see any sign of him reaching into his glove with is bare hand. There was NO voluntary release.
__________________
Herb McCown
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 09:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

TxUmp,

You can check out the replay at the following link:

The Official Site of The St. Louis Cardinals | stlcardinals.com: Homepage

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,037
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxUmp View Post
I'll try to catch it again on ESPN, but I did not see any sign of him reaching into his glove with is bare hand. There was NO voluntary release.
You can clearly see the ball fall out of the bare hand as he hits the ground (after he hits the wall). It was a catch.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:20am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxUmp View Post
I'll try to catch it again on ESPN, but I did not see any sign of him reaching into his glove with is bare hand. There was NO voluntary release.
It's clear as day. Watch the replay again before making such a definitive (and wrong) statement.

As a Phillies fan, I watched the end of the game and the Cardinals announcers actually covered this in the post-game and said it was a catch because Ankiel took the ball out of the glove with his bare hand. They must have called somebody to be *that* right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
~Cripes~

After watching the replay twice this statement:

Quote:
"There was NO voluntary release."
ties for the dumbest post ever made on the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 323
What a great call by the officiating team getting that right in real time. Easy to see in the replay.
__________________
"That's all I have to say about that."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 11:29am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forest Ump View Post
What a great call by the officiating team getting that right in real time. Easy to see in the replay.
If I was watching as an umpire, I don't think it would've been that tough. I would've been anticipating a crash and looking for the transfer. Watching as a fan, though, in real-time, all I saw was a horrendous crash.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida, Haddonfield NJ
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to Cub42
Good Call

It was called correctly. Voluntary release. Here is something to think about. If that wasn't a 4 man crew, that would have been a very difficult play to call
__________________
Once in awhile you can get shown the light, in the strangest of places if you look at it right
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
After watching the replay twice this statement:



ties for the dumbest post ever made on the internet.
tim what did you expect he is from Texas....LOL
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C View Post
After watching the replay twice this statement:



ties for the dumbest post ever made on the internet.
Tim, that's got to be a pretty big list by now.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Pardon me for being a bit ignorant here... but i'm not making the connection with the "on the transfer" analogy of calling this a catch.

The only time I see an "on the transfer" call is on the front end of the double play, or an outfielder is trying to throw out the runner after a caught fly ball.

In both scenarios, the fielder has complete control of his body and he bobbled the transfer because he was trying to throw someone out at another base.

In the video, the ball was transferred (hard to tell full speed) from his glove to hand, but what for? He wasn't trying to throw anybody out because he still hasn't stopped stumbling.

I'm a little confused because this looks like a no-catch to me...


PS- the video appears to show that they ruled it a no-catch. The beginning scoreboard at the top has nobody on and 1 out and when Ankiel is being carted off, there is R3 and still 1 out...

Last edited by bossman72; Tue May 05, 2009 at 10:36pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 10:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
In the video, the ball was transferred (hard to tell full speed) from his glove to hand, but what for? He wasn't trying to throw anybody out because he still hasn't stopped stumbling.
It doesn't matter what for. All that matters is that the transfer was a voluntary release from the glove.

Heck - on a third out the fielder often takes the ball from his glove (obviously for no reason as there's no play to be made) and tosses it into the stands. Would you think that wasn't a catch?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong

Last edited by Rich Ives; Tue May 05, 2009 at 10:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 05, 2009, 11:58pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpmazza View Post
tim what did you expect he is from Texas....LOL
Says the guy in Mississippi.
__________________
Even if youíre on the right track, youíll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers

Last edited by Welpe; Wed May 06, 2009 at 12:20am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BU help PU with catch/no catch in infield? Angler Softball 4 Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:20am
Catch or no catch(foul ball)? illiniwek8 Baseball 2 Sat Mar 25, 2006 07:16pm
Is this a catch? Dakota Softball 40 Fri Mar 03, 2006 05:12pm
To catch, or not to catch; the coin, that is... chiefgil Football 13 Wed Aug 11, 2004 06:40am
Catch/No Catch Illini_Ref Baseball 3 Fri May 21, 2004 12:49pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1