The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 02, 2002, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 11
Question

Situation: Runners on 2nd and 3rd no outs. Batter hits fly ball to centerfield. R2 leaves early and does not retag, R3 tags at time of catch, F8 throws out R3 attempting to score. F2 after retiring R3 throws the ball to 2nd base, F4 tags 2nd base while in possesion of ball to appeal R2 leaving early. OBR 7.10 States: Appeal must be made before the next pitch or any play or attempted play. Does the play at the plate count as a play or attempted play? Do you allow the appeal therefore completing a triple play? In my opinion the appeal is proper but other umps have told me it is't allowed.
This question is for OBR not FED Rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 02, 2002, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,729
OK,

The play at the plate is a continuation of the original play and is NOT considered a play upon itself.

Am I missing something?

NO, the play does not end the attempt to appeal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1