The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 25, 2008, 11:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
The time play was crossing the plate before the 3rd out. There was no other time play. You can't "keep a time play alive." Touching the plate was correcting a baserunning error at a base that R2 had already achieved. All the touch did was prevent a successful appeal. If there were no re-touch, a successful appeal would result in the advantageous 4th out and wipe off the run.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 126
The more I think about this play, the less likely I feel it can occur. Runner crosses plate, third out happens and runner comes back to touch home. This touch needs to happen before the infielders leave the diamond. Certainly could happen but not likely. The defense moving off the field is a key element here because if the touch doesn't occur before they are all off, the touch would mean nothing (run would count because the miss wasn't appealed in time) because at some point the half inning has to be considered over. So we are concentrating on the window of time between when the third out is recorded and when the D has left the infield.

In Fed. the runner, after missing home, must return immediately. Immediately is user defined and IMO if he does not (and how could he not within this window of time) his attempt to correct his mistake would be meaningless and it would tip off the defense that they could appeal (of course it could also fool them into thinking they could no longer appeal). The other codes do not make this immediate return a requirement. The touch would still need to occur within this window of time (which as I said would probably need to be considered immediate anyway).

All that being said, I would call it a timing play when the runner reutrned to touch, no run. If the call is protested we've got rules support. You've got to touch the bases. Interpretation-wise we can argue that a touch trumps a pass. All benefit of doubt on a missed base play should go to the defense and all burden of fulfilling the requirments of the baserunning rules should fall on the offense.

D
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
IMO the timing play ends at the moment the runner either tags the plate or misses the plate, as by rule.

The retouch by the runner is to correct the base running error of not tagging the base, also by rule.

The appeal, also allowed by rule, was not necessary after the tag because the base running infraction was corrected.

Scoring however, is achieved upon the touch of the plate or as otherwise allowed. IMO touch of the plate for scoring and touch of the plate for a timimg play do NOT have to be the same instance in time.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 12:47pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
The time play was crossing the plate before the 3rd out. There was no other time play. You can't "keep a time play alive." Touching the plate was correcting a baserunning error at a base that R2 had already achieved. All the touch did was prevent a successful appeal. If there were no re-touch, a successful appeal would result in the advantageous 4th out and wipe off the run.
I'm with Dash on this one. Since the "authorities" seem to be in disagreement, I'm free to choose (and then let the supervisors rule when the protest happens). But that's just me.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ
I'm with Dash on this one. Since the "authorities" seem to be in disagreement, I'm free to choose (and then let the supervisors rule when the protest happens).

JJ
And, of course, the decision could very well depend on whether it's a day game or a night game.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Just as you can have a different ruling on backswing interference, after reading and discussing this play with others, I believe you can have two differnt rulings.

If the runner aggressively returns during unrelaxed action, the time play is/should be in effect IHMO. If the runner over runs the plate, comes to a stop, and as long as he doens't enter the dugout, he may return and protect himself against the appeal by touching the plate, during relaxed action.

As it has been pointed out, there really isn't a correct answer to this one, the rules simply don't discuss or cover this play. So not only does it come down to being a day or night game, is it east or west coast, and north or south. Were all have to agree to dis-agree on this one. And may the first portest win.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 05:43pm
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
You make a good point about "let's wait and see" - it would behoove us to do just that. I'll bet that in the vast world of baseball this DOES happen to someone, and hopefully he'll be a poster and we can follow the trail of darts and flames all the way to his protest committee.

JJ
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 31, 2008, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
I guess this may be a true case of

OBR9.01c "Each umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules."

So as you can see, Its covered!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2008, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I'll settle this. I just found one of those 8-ball fortune tellers in a closet.

Hold on. I have to read it the OP.

OK. "Does the run score?"

Here goes.

It says . . .

"Ask again later."

I'll let you guys know.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th Out Appeal cshs81 Baseball 7 Sun May 06, 2007 05:33pm
OBR Appeal tasoump Baseball 1 Tue Jul 02, 2002 02:39pm
Appeal Prince Baseball 3 Fri May 10, 2002 12:03pm
Out on Appeal ??? Bandit Softball 2 Thu Apr 25, 2002 09:28am
appeal Whowefoolin Baseball 2 Fri Nov 30, 2001 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1