The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 09, 2002, 11:10pm
Prince
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OBR 7.10 requires that "An appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play...If the defensive team on its first appeal errs, a request for a second appeal on the same runner at the same base shall not be allowed by the umpire..."

My question...what is considered an "error". Specifically, in a Pony 13-14 yo game, I had an appeal to 3B for R2 missing the base on a double. The throw in was from F8 to F6 at 2B. F2 called for F6 to throw to F5 at 3B saying they were appealing R2 missing the bag at 3B. F5 misplayed the throw which dribbled away. He picked it up and touched 3B. I did not allow the appeal since the first attempt was erred.

Did I make the right call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 06:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
The ball was still live, so you should have allowed the appeal. If they threw the ball into the stands, then there's no further appeal.

(Unless Pony has its own rule I never heard of.)
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 06:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by Prince
OBR 7.10 requires that "An appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play...If the defensive team on its first appeal errs, a request for a second appeal on the same runner at the same base shall not be allowed by the umpire..."

My question...what is considered an "error". Specifically, in a Pony 13-14 yo game, I had an appeal to 3B for R2 missing the base on a double. The throw in was from F8 to F6 at 2B. F2 called for F6 to throw to F5 at 3B saying they were appealing R2 missing the bag at 3B. F5 misplayed the throw which dribbled away. He picked it up and touched 3B. I did not allow the appeal since the first attempt was erred.

Did I make the right call?
The question of "erring during an appeal" came up earlier in the past year when this discussion arose.
    R1, who had advanced past 2B, failed to retouch 2B during his successful attempt to retreat to 1B after a caught fly. After gloving the ball at 1B, F3's teammates yelled for him to appeal the improper return of R1. So, with ball in hand and while purposely touching the 1B bag to make his appeal, F3 verbally appeals to umpire that R1 missed 2B during his return.

    While we know R1 is not out for this improper appeal, does this constitute "erring" in the appeal attempt such that the improper return of R1 could no longer be appealed?

The ruling received was that the ONLY way a team could "err" in their appeal attempt was to throw the ball into dead ball territory during their attempt. In this example, a continued appeal per correct procedure would be allowed. The umpire would not acknowledge this improper appeal as an attempted appeal since it was not properly appealed by required procedure.


Just my opinion,

Freix


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 10, 2002, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Prince
OBR 7.10 requires that "An appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play...If the defensive team on its first appeal errs, a request for a second appeal on the same runner at the same base shall not be allowed by the umpire..."

My question...what is considered an "error".
If you'll read the very next sentence in 7.10 (The part that begins CLARIFICATION) you'll find the answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1