View Single Post
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 30, 2008, 12:15am
Publius Publius is offline
Is this a legal title?
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Man
Wendelstadt has and interesting view. Check out their message board.

D
The Wendelstedt RAMM, in Reference Play 14 of "How a Run Scores" (p. 99), agrees with Roder. It is a contradiction of "Harry's Hint" on p. 94: "Missed bases should be considered as "touched" for scoring purposes, until they are appealed by the defensive team." (emphasis mine)

By ruling a runner did not touch, even though he passed, the base, the umpire has, in effect, initiated an appeal on behalf of the defense. He'll have to go wash his hands before resuming play.
Reply With Quote