View Single Post
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 09:30am
jicecone jicecone is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
IMO the timing play ends at the moment the runner either tags the plate or misses the plate, as by rule.

The retouch by the runner is to correct the base running error of not tagging the base, also by rule.

The appeal, also allowed by rule, was not necessary after the tag because the base running infraction was corrected.

Scoring however, is achieved upon the touch of the plate or as otherwise allowed. IMO touch of the plate for scoring and touch of the plate for a timimg play do NOT have to be the same instance in time.
Reply With Quote