![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
bob |
|
|||
Enlightenment
Quote:
"If the action is continuing and the tagged base is a "force" base, the defense makes the appeal merely by "stepping on the missed base." A continuation play, in the proper context of the rules, is acceptable to the baseball community. Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 15, 2007 at 03:54pm. |
|
|||
Asking the experts:
A coach runs out of the dugout to argue a call and incorrectly quotes a rule that does not exist {e.g., see OP}. You calmly try to explain your reasoning and he loudly disagrees. He is not listening to your argument, he is only trying to show you UP {slang term}. Would you immediately eject him?
Last edited by SAump; Sun Jul 15, 2007 at 04:21pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
I find coaches who run to the lines funny, like a carnival show, always brings a smile to my face. ![]() ![]()
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day." ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
My training and experience, while probably not as extensive or adequate as yours, has taught me that without the benefit of asking for time and having it granted, a coach who runs out onto the field to argue is at risk for an early exit.
__________________
Bob P. ----------------------- We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself. |
|
|||
Quote:
Running at the umpire is often interpreted as "showing up the umpire" (if not all by itself, then in conjunction with other acts). A manager who runs / charges at the umpire is going to have a shorter leash than one who walks out to discuss the play. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Greymule's posting said "However, if after the tag, F5 still had time to get the BR at 1B, he could have done so for a fourth out and nullified the run." That is NOT an appeal play, so your quote of OBR 7.10 - and all the other manual pages - is irrelevant. He's saying in his "however" - unless I misunderstand, and he wants to clarify - that the defense made the equivalent of a 5-3 play for this 4th out.
That's right. The defense made a 5-3 play for the 4th out. I agree that this would not be an appeal. It's just a 5-3 out. However, I think there was once (quite a while back by now) a question about this, and it merited an "approved ruling" or something. Please tell me that teams, noticing a BR has stopped running to 1st in this sitch, throw to F3 to claim an appeal of a "missed base," or try to say the last out is a force, and thus the run doesn't count. I'm not quite sure what you're getting at here. If the defense threw to 1B in time and got a fourth out before the BR arrived, no runs could score on the play. Since I had injected softball earlier, I will say that in ASA softball, the defense cannot get this out at 1B if there are already 3 outs.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Mon Jul 16, 2007 at 10:47pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timing Play | gballerone | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 07:36pm |
Timing Play | BigGref | Baseball | 13 | Mon Jun 06, 2005 01:35pm |
Timing Play??? | rickfriedmann | Baseball | 9 | Thu Jun 02, 2005 10:02am |
Timing play | hitdawg23 | Softball | 2 | Fri May 06, 2005 08:52am |
Possible 2 out timing play | rleakins | Baseball | 9 | Tue Apr 19, 2005 08:21pm |