The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Cool

I had the below situation at a high school game. I ruled no run contiues play on the batter no force out.

2 outs r1 on first, B1 at the plate, ball hit in gap, R1 rounds third touches home. B1 is thrown out at 3rd. Is this a timing play? and does the run score. High School rules.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,036
OUCH!

Quote:
Originally posted by rleakins
I had the below situation at a high school game. I ruled no run contiues play on the batter no force out.

2 outs r1 on first, B1 at the plate, ball hit in gap, R1 rounds third touches home. B1 is thrown out at 3rd. Is this a timing play? and does the run score. High School rules.
Yes this is a timing play!

If R1 touched home before the out on BR at third, the run would score. If the out occured before R1 touched home, which seems impossible in this situation, the run would not score.

Seems you blew this one, live and learn. I'm sure it won't happen again, right rleakins?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 83
This is like watching car crashes. I know I shouldn't do this..... but.. can't... help.... myself....

WHAT possible reason did you have for NOT COUNTING R1's run on your play... ? This is the R1 who SCORES, gets to the dugout, and has sucked down half a Gatorade, before the B-R is thrown out at 3rd...

Hope the scorekeeper had an eraser.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 04:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Is this considered a timing play? Is your answer pertainting to major league or high school rules?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally posted by rleakins
Is this considered a timing play? Is your answer pertainting to major league or high school rules?
Yes this is a timing play and yes this pertains to any rules of baseball as far as I know.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by rleakins
Is this considered a timing play? Is your answer pertainting to major league or high school rules?
Yes it is a timing play under all rule codes.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Thank you for your assistance. I was unable to find it in a rule book.

I have another question? why does it become timing?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 05:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,036
4.09 - HOW A TEAM SCORES
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three players are put out to end the inning.

This is the rule of LL. It is the only rule book I have on disc to quote you.

To further try and answer your question, there is no force play involved. It now become a matter of what occured first, hense timing play. Out then touches, no score. Touches then out, count the run. TIMING PLAY!

I want to add, put a rules book in your bathroom. If you are like me, you could read the whole thing in one sit down!

[Edited by thumpferee on Apr 18th, 2005 at 06:22 PM]
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 18, 2005, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally posted by rleakins
Thank you for your assistance. I was unable to find it in a rule book.

I have another question? why does it become timing?
I believe ALL codes read about the same. The run counts if the runner touches home plate before the third out of the inning is made, except if the third out was a "force out", or an out by the batter-runner before he touches first base.

The key word is "before", which dictates the time it happens, and therefore, "a timing play".

[Edited by jicecone on Apr 18th, 2005 at 06:24 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 19, 2005, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks to all who responded. I was confused on how this had become a timing play. Now I understand.

ya I screwed the pooch on that one. Won't do that again.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1