The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 01, 2005, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 46
At a U13 rec game today I heard the strangest explanation of a call from an umpire I have ever heard. R3 and R1. 2 outs. BR hits a lazy grounder to 3B. R1 more walks than runs toward second. T3B throws to 2B for the force at second. Then it became interesting. PU made a point of going over to both coaches and telling them the run did not count because "it was a timing play, and the runner had not crossed home before the out at second." He THEN proceeded to say it was a timing play because R1 could have just hung out between 1B and 2B until the run scored so there was no "force" becaue BR had already reached 1B.
Are there ANY set of facts in which PU could be correct in this sitch???
p.s. - I was there watching my son play and, properly, I said not a word.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1