The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
Here's the situation: Bases Loaded, 2 Outs...sharp grounder to the outfield, Run from 3rd scores, batter reaches 1st base but the runner is forced but after the run scores and runner is safe at 1st. Does the run count from 3rd even though the force was made at 2nd afterwards??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 156
Rulebooks are great places to find answers to these simple questions. Any time a runner who is forced to advance to the next base is put out (by either tagging the base while in possession of the ball or tagging the runner) before reaching said base for the third out, no runs may score.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 11:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Does the run count from 3rd even though the force was made at 2nd afterwards??

NO.

See ASA Rule 5-5B
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 12:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 55
I'm not sure.

Could we try this again? Two outs. R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B. Grounder to outfield. R1 touches home plate. BR safe at 1B. R3 forced out at 2B. (Is this right?)

ASA Rule 5.5.B(1) says no runs score "... if the third out of the inning is the result of a batter-runner being called out prior to reaching first base or any other runner being forced out due to the batter becoming a batter-runner." (emphasis mine)

Is that what happened? If so, your answer is "no" if ASA rules apply.

[Edited by noobie on Jul 12th, 2005 at 08:03 AM]
__________________
Hey Blue! When your seeing eye dog barks, it's a strike!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
had my BU tell the 3B coach a run scored cuz tag put out runner for 3rd out with bases loaded

i dont know why this is so difficult to understand. 3B coach yelled "Run scores, tag was after the score" .. BU yells out "Run Scores" i just cleaned the plate looked at the official score keeper and said run doesnt score and talked to him between innings.. score keeper said "I know, I wasnt going to score it unless you said to". At least the score keeper knew what the heck was going on. Coach didnt whine.. he knew, nice try.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally posted by wadeintothem
had my BU tell the 3B coach a run scored cuz tag put out runner for 3rd out with bases loaded

i dont know why this is so difficult to understand. 3B coach yelled "Run scores, tag was after the score" .. BU yells out "Run Scores" i just cleaned the plate looked at the official score keeper and said run doesnt score and talked to him between innings.. score keeper said "I know, I wasnt going to score it unless you said to". At least the score keeper knew what the heck was going on. Coach didnt whine.. he knew, nice try.
Why would your partner open his/her mouth on a call that is not theirs to make? Don't you just love partners like that
__________________
David
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
BTW gballerone,

Welcome to the board.

__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by noobie
I'm not sure.

Could we try this again? Two outs. R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R1 on 1B. Grounder to outfield. R3 touches home plate. BR safe at 1B. R1 forced out at 2B. (Is this right?)

... snip ...
R1 is the first or lead runner
R2 is the second runner, the one after the first runner
R3 is the third runner, the one after the second runner
In sequence, not by bases.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2005, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 55
You are so right. I started out that way and then got turned around somehow
__________________
Hey Blue! When your seeing eye dog barks, it's a strike!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1