![]() |
|
|
|||
Missed base and appeal.
FED rules here.
BR misses first base. If the BR is a full step or more past the base when the throw arrives I signal safe. If he is less than that, I call him out. Then I rule on any appeal. Is this correct mechanics? Also, if the runner is attempting to return to beat the appeal, is this a tag play? Now at home. What is the correct mechanics for a missed base here? I have been told by a few guys that if there are times to make no signal and times to signal safe. Little help please! |
|
|||
As soon as the batter-runners trail foot passes the missed base the proper mechanic is to signal safe and wait for an appeal.
"Professional umpires are trained to render the "safe" signal and voice declaration at first base even though the batter-runner missed the base but is considered past the base when the tag of first base is made. This becomes an appeal play and the batter-runner would subsequently be called out for failure to properly touch the base. This is the proper mechanical procedure at all bases involving force plays. On plays which require a tag, professional umpires are instructed to make no call until the runner legally touches the base or the runner is tagged before legally touching the base. " At home you need to wait just a second and see what the runner does before you signal anything. If he heads toward his dugout you signal safe and wait for an appeal. If he immediately scrambles back toward the plate to correct his error he has to be tagged. Tim. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
If it is a "bang-bang" play and I would have called safe had he touched the base, I signal out. A clinician once told me that in this case he hasn't been interpreted to have "passed the base" so he is out immediately if the fielder has the ball and is touching the base.
Also, what is the status of the accidental appeal in FED? I seem to remember a contradiction in the books last year. The rule book said no accidental appeals, but the case book had a case that supported an accidental appeal. Also, is the missed first base appeal a tag play or not? Once the runner passes the base, is it now a tag play? I understand that if the fielder appeals before the runner attempts to return it is not, but what if the runner is scrambling back to first? Tag or no? |
|
|||
Quote:
I guess I'm just a simpleton- I call the play that happened (ie, if he beat the throw, he's "SAFE!" whether he stepped on the base or not), observe he missed the bag, and await further developments. Maybe I'm wrong. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
8.2.3 Situation A: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrives safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, though he believes the runner has beaten the throw. RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and is the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base. |
|
|||
8.2.3A is obviously the work of a committee, as it fails to square with the usual FED understanding of an appeal.
I wouldn't be surprised if this is on the Rules Committee's agenda - somewhere beneath the rule about white threads on the pitcher's glove.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with you that the note in the penalty phase of 8-2-5 would apply and indicate no verbal announcement was necessary at other bases, but at first base the runner is obligated to immediately return or be put in jeapordy anyway. I don't see F3 receiving the throw after the batter-runner missed the base as being 'obvious and immenent' in regards to an appeal. Tim. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OBS and missed base | WhoMe? | Softball | 6 | Wed Jul 28, 2004 03:39pm |
HR, missed base | Jay R | Baseball | 18 | Tue May 13, 2003 02:38pm |
Missed base | Robert G | Baseball | 4 | Mon Aug 20, 2001 12:31pm |
Missed base | David Van Milligen | Baseball | 14 | Wed May 16, 2001 12:35pm |
Missed Base | jclangley | Baseball | 10 | Wed Apr 18, 2001 08:42pm |