View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 11:17am
Justme Justme is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 477
Originally Posted by Peruvian
It doesn't support an accidental appeal. The FED's feeling is that if he missed the base and F3 subsequently touched the bag, he is out because of the force play. (8.2.3)
FED Case Book

8.2.3 Situation A: B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrives safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, though he believes the runner has beaten the throw.

RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on the runner and is the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base.
Reply With Quote