View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 09:58am
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
If it is a "bang-bang" play and I would have called safe had he touched the base, I signal out. A clinician once told me that in this case he hasn't been interpreted to have "passed the base" so he is out immediately if the fielder has the ball and is touching the base.

Also, what is the status of the accidental appeal in FED? I seem to remember a contradiction in the books last year. The rule book said no accidental appeals, but the case book had a case that supported an accidental appeal.

Also, is the missed first base appeal a tag play or not? Once the runner passes the base, is it now a tag play? I understand that if the fielder appeals before the runner attempts to return it is not, but what if the runner is scrambling back to first? Tag or no?
Reply With Quote