View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 11:23am
BigUmp56 BigUmp56 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Originally Posted by Peruvian
It doesn't support an accidental appeal. The FED's feeling is that if he missed the base and F3 subsequently touched the bag, he is out because of the force play. (8.2.3)
Can you explain how you came up with this way of interpreting 8-2-3?

I agree with you that the note in the penalty phase of 8-2-5 would apply and indicate no verbal announcement was necessary at other bases, but at first base the runner is obligated to immediately return or be put in jeapordy anyway.

I don't see F3 receiving the throw after the batter-runner missed the base as being 'obvious and immenent' in regards to an appeal.

Reply With Quote