View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 07, 2006, 12:57pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Remember that in Fed it was actually an "accidental force play," not an "accidental appeal," although it often looked like an appeal.

If a batter hit a triple and missed 2B, there was no automatic out if a fielder with the ball happened to trip over 2B. The fielder had to make a definite appeal to the umpire.

But if a runner was on 1B and on a hit missed 2B on his way to 3B, then (because he was forced to 2B) he was out if a fielder with the ball happened to step on 2B when running the ball in.

At any rate, I thought Fed did away with the accidental force play a couple of years ago. If they did, then I would think the missed bag at 1B would then be treated as in OBR.
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote