![]() |
|
|
|||
I don't know if this is true, but it is something that I have noticed.
In the Cubs game a few days back, there was a homerun call that was changed. The person who gave the signal that the call was being changed was the PU. He is the UIC of the game and he runs the game. The "head official" of the game is the one who announced that the call was changed. In the NFL, instant replay is used to change calls. It is the referee who announces weather the call will be upheld or not. Once again, it is the "head official" who announces the change. In the NCAA game that WCB described, he said that the non-calling official was the one who signaled that the call was being changed. Well mabye the official who made the original call was the umpire, and the one who signaled the change was the Referee. Once again, the "head official" signaled the change. I don't know all of this is a just a coincidence, but if it is not, then it might settle the argument about WCB's NCAA situtaion. |
|
||||
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
||||
Re: It does not.
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: It does not.
Quote:
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
NCAA basketball rule 2-2-4- "One official may ASSIST another by providing additional information related to a MADE decision". NCAA basketball rule 2-2-5- "The referee's decision shall NOT take precedence over that of the umpire(s) in calling a foul or violation".. The referee is always the crew chief, or head official. An out-of-bounds call is a violation. Put the rules above together with the one that I already cited and you get the procedure that HAS to be followed and WAS followed:--i.e.- An official makes an out-of-bounds call. Another official comes in to provide additional information on that call. The official that made the call then may or may not change that call, dependant on what he- AND HE ONLY- wants to do. No other official, including the referee, has the right to overrule that calling official, or make that calling official change his original call. Whether the calling official or another official gave the final signal or not has got absolutely nothing to do with the procedures outlined in the rules cited. It doesn't matter because the rules have already been laid down as to the procedure that must be followed to reach that final decision. The RULES say that one official can NEVER OVERRULE another official. That's not me saying that, or Rut saying that. It's THE RULES that are saying that!!!!!! It's that simple, whether WCB wants to believe those written NCAA rules or not. To be quite honest, for someone- anyone- to argue their own personal suppositions over plainly written rules is ludicrous. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jul 6th, 2004 at 04:48 AM] |
|
|||
Quote:
I guess that maybe you can't read. You never saw the play, I did. EXACTLY what I wrote happened. Live with it, a play happened (at least once) that you can't explain, with your vast NCAA experience and all. NCAA basketball rule 2-2-4- "One official may ASSIST another by providing additional information related to a MADE decision". I'm sure he did, in the locker room, after the game. They made eye contact and the other ref immediately signalled to the other ref that the ball should go the other way. Then he signalled to the rest what the call is. The other ref never said a word or made a signal. NCAA basketball rule 2-2-5- "The referee's decision shall NOT take precedence over that of the umpire(s) in calling a foul or violation".. No foul...just an out of bounds call. Hmmm, I thought that was clear. Maybe, I wasn't clear and you had to guess what play I was describing. The RULES say that one official can NEVER OVERRULE another official. That's not me saying that, or Rut saying that. It's THE RULES that are saying that!!!!!! It's that simple, whether WCB wants to believe those written NCAA rules or not. To be quite honest, for someone- anyone- to argue their own personal suppositions over plainly written rules is ludicrous. Yeah, how many resin bags have you provided to a baseball game? Yet, there it is in the rule book. Oh, I guess that we are only talking about the rules that you want. Sorry, I thought that when you make a statement, you could, maybe, back it up. Rules and laws are very grey areas, they get twisted and aberrations happen all of the time. Not that you'd notice, since according to you, if it is not in the book, it can't happen. BTW how much D1 basketball experience do you have. That is very easy to verify. [Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jul 6th, 2004 at 04:48 AM] [/B][/QUOTE] |
|
|||
Quote:
This is just another example of you lack of knowledge of basketball rules and procedures. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
[QUOTE]Originally posted by WindyCityBlue
Quote:
1)Posted by Windy City Blue at 2:44pm on June 30th- "When one official makes a bad call and another official CONFERS with him(MAYBE IT JUST TAKES THREE SECONDS, MAYBE LONGER) to contradict the call, and it is changed. It has been OVERRULED. A ruling was made and it was turned over. OVERRULED." 2) Posted by Windy City Blue at 10:06am on June 30th- "The crowd went crazy and one of the other officials hustled in AND MUST HAVE CONVINCED HIM that it was deflected- the correct call" 3) Posted by Windy City Blue at 4:13pm on June 30th- "One of the referees ran over, THEY CONFERRED FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS and the referee WHO CAME IN WITH THE HELP signalled the other way". Here's the link again, Windy. Check your OWN words out. http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...3&pagenumber=1 Again, note that YOU plainly posted above that the call was OVERRULED. Well, NCAA rules won't allow that. Feel free to keep arguing differently though. How many different ways can you say the same thing- that the NCAA rules are wrong and Windy City Blue is right? ByeBye credibility, Windy! ![]() |
|
|||
CCA manual?
Quote:
__________________
Alan Roper Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass |
|
|||
Re: It does not.
Quote:
__________________
Alan Roper Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass |
|
|||
Re: CCA manual?
Quote:
![]() Available at: http://www.gerrydavis.com And probably many other sources too. These manuals are available for most NCAA sports. |
|
|||
Get it right my left.......................
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Re: Get it right my left.......................
Quote:
How would you handle this? Official #1 rules that basketball is tipped out of bounds by white. Official #2 who had a different angle, comes in and states that he is absolutely positive that blue tipped the ball last.
__________________
Alan Roper Stand your ground. Don't fire unless fired upon, but if they mean to have a war, let it begin here - CPT John Parker, April 19, 1775, Lexington, Mass |
|
|||
Re: Re: Get it right my left.......................
Quote:
Being overruled means that one official saw something and makes a call regardless of what the original officials saw or what their coverage area is as well. That is not OVERRULING another official. That is helping an official. The calling officials can reject that information if they choose to. A Supreme Court Judge can overrule a decision that is made by an Appellate Court Judge's decision. Officials cannot just make a decision without the approval of the calling official. So I really do not see how someone is being overruled when calling officials can stick with their own call. If a BU Umpire feels he made the right call, no one can make him change it. The same in all sports I work. Again, if you do not believe me, ask this very question on the Basketball Board and use the language of OVERRULE and see what reaction you will get. ![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
No...
Crew chiefs in D1 and Minor League baseball carry a little more authority. I have had calls changed and I've changed calls as crew chief - all of them have been after conferring with my partners, because baseball allows this. A couple of times I have had to prevent fights from breaking out in our locker room after the game, but on the field, we did our jobs. Sometimes our "conferences" were a signal - ala pulled foot, bobbled ball, "Safe" for no catch, double set for a balk, etc. I've worked with some of my partners for fourteen years and often don't need words to show what we want or will do. Work with a crew long enough and this happens. I do not suggest it to rookies or inexperienced crews. But does it happen, you bet. Did you ever see Joe Brinkman call a check swing without taking his hands out of his pockets? He did it in a playoff game two years ago.
Tensions are obviously high about this issue. Jeff, in order to end this, I will agree that changing/overruling/altering a baseball call/ruling is a difficult decision and should be done only when warranted and then, properly. My intent was to show that the steps taken by our professional brethren is for the good of the game. We owe it to the players, coaches & fans to make sure that the game is called fairly and correctly. Adopting this practice ON THE BASEBALL FIELD is sure to come. FED already said that they want any incorrect call that is made that puts a team in jeopardy should be corrected. Then they come back and say that even if you call a fair ball "Foul", it is foul. We know that they did this to protect a call made in error, that would be difficult to change. Jurassic, You didn't have to tell us that you weren't a baseball umpire..it was obvious. The only mistake I made was trying to convince you that when you say something can't possibly happen, someone is going to give you a REAL example of it occuring. I did, you can't believe it...oh, well. Working at the D1 level in any sport is an accomplishment. You complained about me posting my credentials to back an opinion, sorry, but jealousy becomes you. I had no intent to make enemies of you when this first began, but you broke the cardinal rule of officiating. "Don't take anything personally." You did, I gloated and you've been sneering ever since. You'd better be careful or your face will stay that way. Uh, oh...too late. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|