![]() |
|
|
|||
The CCA Manual lists seven situations in which an umpire may offer unsolicited information to another umpire that made an incorrect call. One of those seven is a fair-foul call on a homerun ball.
I am uncertain whether the professional umpires follow the same mechanics in those seven situations. But I'll never work pro ball. I do, however, work NCAA ball, which causes me to follow the NCAA seven-situation mechanic at any level. So my advice is: offer your unsolicited information in those seven situations and let the calling umpire decide whether to correct his call or not. |
|
|||
Quote:
Bye-bye credibility, Windy. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
I have never seen a ball or strike changed in baseball at any level. You will never holding call made by one official, then the other official comes in and tells the calling officials he did not see it properly. Not without being fined or fired. I guess it could happen, but following improper procedure has been punished before in the NFL and the NBA. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
This topic was pretty much talked out in an earlier post until Windy brought it up again just to needle a few posters.
Not what this forum is for. Quote:
Quite offensive IMO. And BTW, Rut and JR are correct.
__________________
omq -- "May I always be the kind of person my dog thinks I am." |
|
|||
![]()
Originally posted June 30th by JurassicRef
Wow, you missed the point, WCB. DG was alluding to basketball officials over ruling each other. Well, that don't happen. Ever! Except in the 2004 NCAA Tourney, at least once! The official above changed his OWN call after listening to the information that was offered to him by another official. No he didn't...watch the play, I have that game on tape, since the brother of a friend is on the team. The referree who made the OOB call(listen now) DID NOT CORRECT HIS CALL, one of his partners looked at him, indicated a touch by the other team and signalled the other way. The other referee NEVER DID A THING, except run up the side of the court to follow the inbounds. That happens all the time. He was NOT over ruled by another official. Okay, he telepathically convinced him that the play was incorrect. Then, he signalled the correct call and told his partner to remain quiet. You can NEVER over rule another official in basketball- plain and simple. There's a very simple theory behind the explicit rule that I detailed in my first post. The basketball rulesmakers don't want their officials to try and assert their OWN judgement over another official's judgement. Okay, so when the buzzer goes off and one official signals no shot, why do they huddle at the TV to see how much time is acually left? Just to see how good they look? OR...could it be that they recognize that JUST LIKE BASEBALL, HOCKEY, TENNIS and FOOTBALL, professional officials can make mistakes and they will provide them with the remedy for fixing them? Hmmm I have never said that every call can and should be scrutinized and if wrong, corrected. I have never said that one official should usurp the other's authority and impose his will. You have put words in my mouth, but didn't like it when I reciprocated. Your difficulty with this is the word NEVER. Wake up...it happened. Other sports are evolving and allowing officials to rectify improper judgements. How long before the rule books are altered? Rut said that he didn't care what the Official rules state because he won't work MLB, but a whole lot of baseball is governed by those same rules. I also recognize that when the pros are doing something that has a positive effect on the game, I should adopt that mindset. My ego does not prevent me from adopting better techniqus that may seem foreign. It also doesn't allow me to hide behind arcane rules and semantics. I have given two exact plays that challenged the theroies presented for discussion. Both are real and not subject to dismissal. The two JR's (Rut and 'rassic) have never wworked any of their sports at a D1 level or beyond. Yet they are a fountain of knowledge about how we should conduct ourselves. I will take solace in the fact that when our Minor League Director of Umpiring calls on us to live up to those standards, we can say we are aware and already are. |
|
|||
![]()
Did you really post this and then come to my post and start in again...
I know I have been in some battles over the years. Some I started others just happen without much participation on my part at all. I think we need to refrain from the constant bickering and constant name calling. We are here to learn from each other in one way or another. Some of us have great experience at the top levels. Others are just getting started. I think those of us that have been around a lot longer, need to be more mindful of those that do not know any better yet. If that is how you truly feel, as someone who tries to teach those with less experience, lesson 1 begins now... Don't ever put things in writing that can be used against you later. My post pointed out a play that ha a direct correlation to a discussion here. You started in with the derogatory remarks. Who's the hypocrite? |
|
|||
I alluded, because it certainly appears to the viewer (television and in person), that it happens in NCAA. I will take your word for it, that it never happens, and wonder what the heck I have been seeing. Obviously, some telephathic communication going on between officials.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Hypocrite
Quote:
Rut posted the above on July 4th at 3:17am. Please take a look at the contents of the thread that I linked below, Windy: http://www.officialforum.com/showthr...3&pagenumber=1 Your first flame directed at Rut was contained in your post on June 28th at 10:25pm. Many more flames directed by you at Rut followed after that- all before July 4th. Do you want me to take the time to dig them all out for you? On June 30th, your post at 5:13pm directed at myself called me an "a$$" and referred to me as "feable(sic) minded". And you're trying to claim that Rut started the derogatory remarks? That's kinda laughable to anyone that can read and think, Windy. ByeBye, credibility- again! You just keep digging yourself in deeper and deeper. |
|
|||
![]()
I am not going to address the personal stuff.
If you do not believe me, ask this question at the Basketball Board. If you do not think what JR or I are saying, ask other officials that know. You will not find a bunch of D1 Tournament Officials, but you will find officials that have worked many different levels. But I did not realize I need to be a D1 Official to intelligently know about procedures that are used. I have actually attended NCAA Meetings that have been held by the NCAA and listened to the Official Directors talk about plays and situations we face. I am sorry that this year will only be my 9th year, but I have worked a few years of NCAA Basketball as well and read the very same book that everyone can reference. But also remember, you have not worked a Major League game, but I am not questioning your position based on your lack of MLB experience. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
This is a very common practice (speaking of the mechanic). But it is also very rare happening. I might go an entire season and not have one of these type of plays changed. I am not saying that officials do not use improper mechanics or procedures, but they can and will get fined or suspended (possibly fired) if they use the wrong procedure. Every D1 NCAA game is reviewed by tape and has every call evaluated. If there was an improper procedure used, the officials would likely not advance in the NCAA Tournament in which this play described took place. There was a double T given out in a Texas game in the NCAA Tournament. The very well known official did not use a commonly used procedure and gave both Ts to Coach Rick Barnes, and the officials that gave both Ts did not work again in this yearÂ’s tournament after the incident. So maybe it happen just like you said it did, but tells me what games those officials worked after that play? Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Re: TV can be rather deceiving.
Quote:
|
|
|||
Re: Re: TV can be rather deceiving.
Quote:
Ask this question on the Basketball Boards. Do not at all take my word for it. Tell all the other experienced officials over there what they do not know. I will stay completely out of the discussion and let everyone else share their point of view. Make sure you describe the play in detail, because I am sure someone saw the game over there. We tend to watch a lot of NCAA games and discuss all kind of plays. I am sure someone saw the play and can tell you the officials that were involved. So if you baseball only umpires know better than us, ask folks that only work basketball and see what they think. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|