The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 19, 2013, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Bases empty, 1-0 count, batter hits a dribbler well foul up the 3rd base line. Catcher retrieves the ball, tosses it to F5, who throws it to F1.
PONY sez ball is awarded and count is now 2-1. Is ASA's rule 6.7.B interpreted the same way?
Speaking ASA

No, and I also doubt PONY does. The reference is to a pitched ball, not a batted ball. Even then, I would not even consider making that ruling unless it was obvious the catcher was avoiding throwing the ball to the pitcher.

Quote:
PONY 8.11.i has the same penalty when runner intentionally interferes with the fielder's attempt to throw to complete a play. Same in ASA?
8.7.J.2
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule questions Ch1town Basketball 8 Tue Jun 10, 2008 07:58pm
Rule Questions secondregionbug Football 15 Wed Aug 29, 2007 03:25pm
Pony Softball Pitcher Sub Rule Clarification jrp Softball 2 Wed May 18, 2005 12:55pm
NFHS & PONY Pitching Rule ? Pitchers Dad Softball 16 Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:48am
2 questions and rule sm_bbcoach Basketball 9 Sun Jan 11, 2004 07:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1